We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay and Decent Location”
Review of Serendipity Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serendipity Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Myrtle Beach B&B and Inns
Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay and Decent Location”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

As mentioned by other reviewers this is nice mom and pops motel. It is a block off the main drag. There are restaurants and miniture golf wiithing a two minute walk from the hotel. It is not sleazy nor is the owner a snob as previously mentioned. Not sure where that person stayed at. Might be a bogus review.

Cons: The only minor complaints I had was the carpet was very old and worn out. The ceiling fan was noisy on all speeds. The television was old and probably needs to upgraded to a flat screen. You could only use the door knob lock to lock the door. The deadbolt can only be used inside the room. NO safes at the motel. Putting a small safe inside each room should not cost too much. No landline phones in the rooms. Phil the owner gave us the pass code so we could use WfFi electronics. Thank god for cell phones, IPOD's, and IPADS. The pool was nice. The water was clean. The bottom of the pool probably could use a scrubbing. Not a lot of parking but then there were not a lof of rooms. Phil and his wife do not live there. At end of night he goes home. he does not live near the motel. If an emergency arises not easy to get in touch with him.

PROS: Phil is a good host. Will answer your questions about Myrtle Beach and its surroundings. Has plenty of brochures of places to visit while staying here. Has a lot of cool-looking antiques in the check-in and dining room. Breakfast was good. Plenty of items to choose from. One hot entree and lots of bagels, muffins, fruits, orange juice and coffee. Yes, I agree, the earlier you get there the more variety. Bottom line there was always food there between 8:00 - 9:30 a.m. Overall the room was nice and cozy. We stayed on the second floor. The price is good compared to the hotels on the beach. If you are on a budget this is the place for you. Maid service was preformed every day. The maid does not get paid a lot so they leave a envelope for you to tip her. There is NO pressure on doing it. Maid service was EXCELLENT!

Bottom line in you want a hilton, ramada or time-share condo stay on the beach. If you want to save money and use it for shopping and entertainment then come to this place. You will NOT regret it.

Room Tip: Go upstairs and away from the main drag across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    56
    8
    7
    10
See reviews for
20
98
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I really enjoyed this place. It was decorated very lovely. The pool was nice and clean. The breakfast was delicious - homemade by Phil's wife. I saw his wife a few times but Phil was the main host. He was very kind and friendly, as well as hardworking. The place is quiet and sweet. It is decorated with antiques in the main hall. The rooms were so pretty and maid service was excellent! The ceiling fan was a little noisy though. Maybe they should get a computer in the main hall but no a big deal because they do have wifi. Not close to the beach but its still in a nice area, dinners, restaurants, mini golf, store, and more. Great price and for that great price the place is definitely worth it. I would stay there again! Very cozy!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arivera11082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Kept looking at hotels in the area and got so confused with the reviews that I switched over to B&B's. This one was a winner. A little away from the hullaballoo. Well cared for, very relaxing, great breakfast and convenient to everything. Beautifully furnished, homey with a helpful owner who directed us wherever we needed to go.

Room Tip: Upper floor so you don't hear anyone walking over your head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bgcglaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Funny how two people at the same place, at the same time even, can have different experiences. Just an incredible value compared to the "hotels." Its a bed and breakfast with all the privacy of a hotel including your own private bathroom.

Breakfast was fantastic, loads of fresh fruit including freshly cut pineapple, variety of fresh baked muffins and cakes and assortment of beverages, cereals, yogurts and a hot main casserole of eggs, cheese, potato, etc. But I will advise that for best selection arrive at the start of breakfast time which is 8 am. We were even treated, free of charge, to a July 4 lunch of watermelon, hot dogs, chips and delicious tomato, cucumber, mozeralla salad.

Phil and his wife are both very friendly, helpful and accomodating. She even made special bakery without eggs for one guest's dietary need. Both were very happy to just chat or leave you alone too! I saw Phil more but I did see his wife often enough, but then again I was out at the pool a lot which was comfortable with its varied pool side seating.

The place is loaded with all kinds of things to chat about too. Interesting art and potted flowering plants. The rose trees had the most beautiful fragrances. Made new friendships with other guests during my stay.

We used the pool as did many other guests. The pool does close at 11 pm, so maybe that was the confusion. I found the walk to the beach very doable and pleasant being all residential except for the hotels right on the beach. Compared to central Myrtle Beach, this walk is so much more pleasant especially with kids.

I travel a lot and always tip for housekeeping, there was no required charge except there was an envelop in the room if you cared to tip. Not unusual or uncommon.

I will stay there again. Very family friendly! Excellent putt putt course on the opposite corner, lots of nearby reastaurents and shopping including the giant outlet mall, Tanger.

Lots of character and a family friendly feel here so if your tastes are for elegant and sleek, pay the big bucks and go for the expensive hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel10mlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Fulfilled a Bucket List thing to do. The owner was extremely friendly. The food was GREAT! The room was clean, cozy, and safe! The only thing (which I read in the reviews) was it did have the musty smell. The beach was in walking distance as were eating places. Tanger Outlet is nearby. They do have wifi and it was extremely quiet on the premesis.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safire01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.6 km away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,690 reviews
5.9 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,796 reviews
0.5 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#15 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
986 reviews
10.9 km away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
10.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Inn

Property: Serendipity Inn
Address: 407 71st Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3634
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Myrtle Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,553 - ₹ 9,625
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serendipity is located on a residential street. We have fifteen units.three queen rms, two large Queen rms, two doubles, five mini suites, one Queen suite, & two Large King suites with king beds, full living rms, full kitchens. The serendipity has private ent, bath, cable, dvd playere, fridg, hair dryer, & Iron,cont. breakfast, & daily maid service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serendipity Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing