We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Menu”
Review of The Wicked Tuna

The Wicked Tuna
Ranked #121 of 153 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Wicked Tuna, Murrells Inlet's premier waterfront dining experience! The Wicked Tuna is a place where friends meet for a unique culinary experience of handmade cocktails, the freshest seafood, steaks, and sushi, and the best views on the Marshwalk. "Hook to Plate" fresh every day seafood -- that's the Wicked Tuna way. Every week our fishing fleet heads out to the Atlantic ocean sourcing the freshest grouper, mahi mahi, sea bass, and snapper off the Carolina coast. Every fish we serve is caught local by our own boats and then cleaned and prepped on-site before it goes to the kitchen. From there, our master chefs prepare exciting culinary experiences matched only by our breathtaking views. Our obsession with fresh seafood, top-grade beef, and bold flavors shine through in our award-winning, signature cuisine. Our master sushi chefs prepare plates of delicately sliced fresh sashimi and artful and creative sushi rolls using the freshest fish available. Pair your dish with a selection from our exclusive wine and sake list and you have an evening to remember. We have created a unique culinary experience for you, incorporating innovative cuisine and excellent service from a one-of-a-kind, dedicated staff. We invite you to enjoy a truly exceptional dining experience where the environment is enchanting, the views exceptional, and the hospitality is impeccable. Come get wicked.
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

Seaweed salad here was amazing! We had a really helpful and nice wait person here. Sushi mi was very good and I highly recommend the patriot rolls. They are not kidding that there are 2 separate kitchens here and the food comes out differently from each. My husband ordered the lobster special and it came out after all 3 of the raw bar orderes. It was worth the extra patience and the wait time. Very good food here even with unorthodox timing!

Thank 2UfromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWickedTuna, Public Relations Manager at The Wicked Tuna, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us and give us some feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all the menu items you ordered while dining with us. We are however sorry that the time difference between each kitchen was off. We do our best to line them up to match for your order to come out at the same time but some times the demand of each kitchen is very different. We are sorry for this but hope you will come back and dine with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 173 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

We ate here our last night at Murrells Inlet. I had the crab cake dinner, it was very good. One friend ordered shrimp and grits, said it was good but not the best he’s had. My husband ordered sushi, said it was good. Another friend ordered the ribs, didn’t like them at all, very tough. Happy hour outside at the Tuna Shak is very good!!

Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWickedTuna, Public Relations Manager at The Wicked Tuna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Jean,
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed spending happy hour with us. We are however sorry that ribs were not to someone in your group's liking. We hope that you will come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Was recommended by a local at the best seafood restaurant in greater Myrtle Beach. We are staying in North Myrtle Beach and this was about a 25 mile journey. When the sun shines (not when we there) you probably have great views of the inlet. The food was very good. My wife had the She-Crab soup and raved about it as an appetizer and I had the Ahi Poke, that was was a very nice portion and very well presented. Almost an entree sized portion. Subsequent we had the Tuna Takati and Eel and Avocado rolls that were very nice. Issue is that items were NOT served simultaneous. The She-Crab soup appeared within minutes of the order, but the Ahi Poke took about 10 minutes. Thus my wife had finished the soup before I got my appetizer. Excuse given was that they have two kitchens. One for the hot food, the other for the sushi. The menu mentions that. Thus the waitress should not have put the order in until I had been served the Ahi Poke. Service was very indifferent. Not work the 50 mile roundtrip from North Myrtle Beach.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blackheath2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWickedTuna, Public Relations Manager at The Wicked Tuna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us and give us some feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food while dining with us. However, we are sorry that your overall experience was not what you would have liked it to be. As you mentioned we do have two different kitchens that does cause some time difference between meals but we try and line them up together there is some time delay due to the different numbers of orders that come into the kitchens. We are sorry that the time difference was longer than expected. We hope that you will come back to come back and try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Service is slow and wait staff can not get orders correct. Ordered a dozen oysters and 10 of the 12 were smaller than a dime. When I complained to Ashley she said she would check on it . After she served our salads and then brought our meal I ask what she found out about the oysters. She stated the she told the manager. I then expected the manager to come by and at least check on the issue. The manager did not come by so when Ashley brought our checks I asked her again to which she said "I thought the manager would come by, she has been here all night". About that same time the manager walked by and Ashley stopped her. It was clear that this was the first time that the manager had heard of the issue but it didn't matter because she said all she was willing to do was take 10% off of the oysters. Well $26 for a dozen oysters less $2.60 is still way too much money for what we were served. All total the people in my group spent about $225 for one of the worst eating experiences in Myrtle Beach. I will not go back. Neither will the other people in my group.

Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWickedTuna, Public Relations Manager at The Wicked Tuna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Becky,
Thank you for taking the time to review us and give us some feedback. We are sorry to hear that this was your experience with us. We will be sure to get to the bottom of this problem and make sure that it never happens again. We hope this doesn't render your judgement in coming back and joining us again for a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Great location along the inlet. Sat on the enclosed porch. Ordered a shrimp po'boy w slaw, a Mediterranean chicken sandwich and lettuce wraps. The food was excellent. So was the service. We skipped dessert to walk along the Marshwalk. Made for a great Spring afternoon.

Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWickedTuna, Public Relations Manager at The Wicked Tuna, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Joanna,
Thank you for the excellent review. We are pleased to hear that everything was great while visiting with us. Please do come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wicked Tuna also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Wicked Tuna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing