We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Staff”
Review of Locals Bar

Locals Bar
Ranked #58 of 302 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Locals offers award-winning sushi and delicious tacos, salads, wings, hibachi and more served for lunch and dinner. A full bar inside and out featuring specialty cocktails and your favorite beers on tap, plus happy hour every day! Add on an outside patio, deck and lounge and you've got a recipe for pure relaxation 7 days a week. Live music 6 days a week, trivia and tons of big screen TV's for all your favorite sporting events!
Reviewed 29 August 2019 via mobile

Popped in late on a weekday and found some of the best sushi I have ever had. Hung out with some of the staff after close at the bar and had a great time. Friendly environment and great food with a cool vibe. I will definitely head back next time I am in town!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Kheldar18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2019

After spending almost $70.00 for 1 person. I usually order for my wife a couple of times a year. My wife's birthday was on Sunday 8/4/2019. After asking for recommendations from the bartender, I ordered what she suggested, almost $70.00 for 1 person. My wife who loves sushi proceeded to throw at least twice, after this marvelous dinner. I personally want to thank Locals for ruining my wife's birthday. Hopefully, people will read this review and save themselves the discomfort and expense of eating their sushi.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2019

Three of us had 8 different sushi rolls and all were fresh, innovative and delicious! Two in our party had chicken teriyaki that was also delicious! It was 1/2 off sushi night and we were happy to pass that savings on to our waitress who was attentive, friendly and kept our drinks full! There was live music, but unfortunately it was not very good :(

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2019

The sushi is innovative and fresh and there's plenty on the menu for folks who don't "do" raw fish. The cocktails are decent as is the on-tap beer selection. Decor is somewhat ho-hum--more of a sports bar feel, but that's OK. The Charleston region is experiencing extreme wait staff shortages and it showed the last time we were there; service was slow, no one came to take our order till we asked, and one order didn't reach our table until we also asked. But that's not the wait staff's fault. Just be patient if there's a crowd and few servers there to help them.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LordPercyPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2019 via mobile

My wife and kids (ages 10/12) visited this establishment after reading a few dozen reviews on sushi joints in the Charleston area. Although “Locals” is a bar, the pictures indicated a more laid back atmosphere. We weren’t disappointed. Locals is a cool looking and clean “Sports Bar” tucked into a small shopping/residential area. We sat on the heated patio and ordered up some rolls. We had the “2011” and “2012 Competition Rolls” as well as a Tuna Tower, Spicy Tuna bites and a “Lobster for Two.” Of course, we ordered the kids some Cali Rolls as well. The presentation was on point and the flavors and portions were really quite exceptional. The use of Cilantro and Jalapeño was a welcomed treat and for only $27 the Lobster for Two ( a meal in itself ) was like nothing we’ve ever seen or tasted. Local Craft beers on tap and to top it off, hits from the 80’s and 90’s was like a dinner party we were throwing at our own house. Although “Locals Bar” isn’t listed as a family restaurant, if you have kids that are mature enough not to run around and bug other patrons, then the patio might be a fit for you. The reason Locals gets a 5 review is because of the unique sushi rolls, flavor, freshness and unexpected value.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank the_clint_walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Locals Bar also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Locals Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.