We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
140
37
10
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
37
10
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary beershem creekrestaurants and barsshrimp boatscraft beerpaddle boardersgreat restaurants within walking distancewatching the boatssliding glassperfect locationan extra blanketloved our stayscrambled eggs and baconthe entire propertyparking lotdowntown charlestonbagels
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We stayed there last week with family and the location of this place is amazing! There were actual dolphins swimming up and down the creek with no fanfare! There is a walking area up and down Shem Creek that is so nice to walk off the food. Six restaurants surround the property with anything you would want from drinks to fabulous dinners. The pool was just right! The rooms are not fancy, but who stays in their room with this perfect location! So close to everything yet off the crowded path. And the staff were all really nice and helpful. I particularly loved the orange ice cold water I filled my camelback with every morning for our day of adventures!! We loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for water view!!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 September 2017

Thank you for your excellent feedback Rebecca! We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! We agree that our locations is fantastic and there are plenty of things to do around us. We're glad that you took full advantage of our orange water in the lobby! That's always been a great bonus to our guests who stay with us. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Shem Creek Inn delivers such kind hospitality! My friends and I had reserved their 55' yacht to stay for a few days. It's stationed right in front of the inn. We thought it would be a nice opportunity to stay right at Shem Creek, enjoy the hotel, its pool and amenities but to have a unique accommodation right on the water. Unfortunately we were never able to enjoy our reservation due to Hurricane Irma. We all needed to travel back to Boston and Atlanta to avoid it. Still, we wanted to visit Shem Creek and see what could have been. When I entered the inn, Amber greeted me with a smile and enthusiastically volunteered to show us what could have been/ what will be when we return. She could have simply dismissed us as we had already canceled our reservation, but she did just the opposite. Amber was happy to take us out to the yacht and show us around. I can tell that this inn is a special place and I can't wait to return! There is something very laid-back and warm about this place. Thanks, Amber!

Room Tip: The yacht is a fun and luxurious option!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 September 2017

Thank you for your excellent feedback Kate! We apologize that Irma had to postpone your initial stay with us, but we are so happy to hear that Amber was there to provide you with fantastic service and show you the yacht. I will let her know that you mentioned her in your review and praise her for her hard work! Thank you again for the feedback and we can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We stayed at Shem Creek over Labor Day weekend with a group of girls and had a great time! The location is superb! So many things to do and places to eat. The staff is excellent and helped us find other water activities when the pool was closed unexpectedly. Thank you so much!!!! RG

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rgreen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 September 2017

Thank you for your excellent feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you had a great time with us! We do apologize for the pool being closed during your stay, but very happy that we were able to find you other activities to experience! We hope to see you again and it was our pleasure serving you and your party!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Beautiful! We had such great views, the hotel was perfect and can't wait to go back. So close to Charleston, but everything you need right at the hotel. If you love sunrises they have some of the best.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank amandagreen312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 September 2017

Thank you for your excellent feedback Amanda! We are so pleased to hear that you think we're perfect and that you had a great stay with us! We love that Charleston is so close to us and glad that you were able to visit there during your vacation! We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying here. It was our first time. It's right on Shem Creek. It's been recently remodeled. Very clean and updated. Pool though a bit small was clean and overlooked Shem Creek. There's several AMAZING restaurants within walking distance. The pier running out to the marsh is just beautiful. We watched dolphins come in and out. We lived watching the boats. We will definitely be going back. Already planning it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 September 2017

Thank you for your excellent feedback Jenny! We are so happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us! Everything you mentioned is why everyone loves to come here and visit us and we're glad you got to experience all of it! We can't wait to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews