We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel around Columbia, South Carolina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We booked a one night stay in this hotel at the beginning of September 2012 on our way back to Canada after our cruise. From Port Canaveral, we reached this location in about 8 hours. We got this hotel for about $60 plus tax through hotwire. The room was spacious and included 2 queen beds, a microwave and mini refrigerator. Our room was on the third floor. There was only one elevator servicing the building. For the night we stayed, it was not a problem. Our room was very clean and it appeared the room was renovated recently. Internet was free through wifi. Connection speed was good.

There are a few restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. As well, there is a Walmart across the street.

The complimentary breakfast in the morning was adequate. It included the usual eggs, sausages, pancakes, muffins, cereals and fruits. Coffee and tea were available all day. We would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCC2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed here while in the area and was very pleased. Kim and Julie were both extremely pleasant and helpful, obviously very guest service oriented! They both made me feel right at home. The location was easy to find, near lots of shopping and restaurants, with plenty of parking available. The room was attractive and clean, and had everything that you could need. The bathroom was also clean, and had plenty of room. Did not have the complimentary breakfast as I was running late, but it appeared to be well stocked, and looked inviting. I would not hesitate to stay here on another trip. Again, I want to thank Kim and Julie for their hospitality and friendliness!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murray2417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is our sixth stay at the Holiday Inn Lexington SC and as ever the rooms are clean, the staff polite cheerful and helpful; particularly at the front desk and the buffet breakfast excellent. It is a great place to stay if you are visiting Columbia or anywhere else in South Carolina. Charleston is about a one hour forty-five minute drive. There is plenty of choice of restaurants near by as well as a shopping centre with Walmart, TJ Max, Publix, dress barn etc. Down Town Columbia is about 20 minute drive for serious shopping and Lake Murray is 10 minutes drive. 15 minutes from Columbia Metropolitan airport. The hotel although a chain has a family atmosphere. The Swimming Pool was clean as was the whole pool area.

Room Tip: For a family of 4 the most spacious room is on top floor, over looking the front of the hotel. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneNicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

OMG, where do I start? I wish I had read the reviews on this hotel, I mistakenly assumed that because I had stayed at other HIE express locations and been satisfied this experience would have been the same. Not so.

The carpet is stained throughout the property, common areas as well as guest rooms. The PTac A/C units are loud and squeel and screech all night long. The hotel hallways appear to have not been vacuumed any time recently, the hotel smells of cigarettes throughout. The rooms smell like cigarettes masked by air freshener.

The night clerk, "Bob" is as clueless as they come. I asked for a room change and he did not check to see if the second one was any better.

So unhappy, I would rather sleep in my car and may do just that.

Do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Barbara D,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It's disappointing to hear about your experience at our hotel. I would like to address your concerns in further details and have sent you a private message to obtain more information regarding your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We previously stayed in Columbia SC Holiday Inn Express. We expected much better accommodations based on our previous experience. When I called about where to plug in our coffee maker they said that we would have to move it since there was no available electricity to it. There were no linens for the sofa sleeper. Only one ice machine for 3 floors. Pool was green and dirty...... sauna and steam room locked and unavailable. Stains on the dust ruffles on the beds......nastiness on the handicap bars in the bathroom. Don't waste your money on these accommodations......RUN to the nearest available!

Room Tip: Smoker and no smoker rooms mixed on the same hall....can smell smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrookeSShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
2.2 km away
Comfort Suites Lexington
Comfort Suites Lexington
#3 of 7 in Lexington
377 reviews
6.9 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Lexington
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn Lexington/Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Lexington
3.2 km away
WoodSpring Suites Columbia Lexington
10.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Columbia I-26 at Harbison Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 131 Innkeeper Dr, Lexington, SC 29072-7405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range: ₹ 6,234 - ₹ 10,283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Lexington South Carolina. Our beautiful property is located in the center point of Lexington shopping & dining, only minutes to downtown Columbia, SC. Our three story hotel offers a selection of king, two queen beds or wheelchair accessible rooms and/or suites to meet everyone's needs. Each of our tastefully decorated rooms and suites are equipped with in-room coffee makers, irons & ironing boards, hair dryers, refrigerators & microwaves, and 32' LCD TV In standard rooms and 37' LCD TV in suites with cable, CNN, ESPN, HBO and 48 cable channels and more. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites offers a boardroom (accommodating up to 12 persons), as well as a large meeting room accommodating up to 100 persons. Catering and audio visual are provided upon request. Whether your visiting the Lexington/Columbia area for business or pleasure, take time to enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and fitness facility. Join us for our excellent Express Start breakfast buffet served daily from 6:30 a.m. until 10:00 a.m. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is conveniently located to all types of recreational venues to include beautiful Lake Murray, several theatres for the performing arts and Lexington County's award winning historical museums. We sincerely hope you'll enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing