We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, great service, peaceful, great food, outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Lovely, great service, peaceful, great food, outstanding”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My initial reaction to The Sanctuary was "snooty" and "stuffy".

Over the next three days, my attitude changed to "lovely", "great service", "peaceful", "great food", "outstanding".

The Sanctuary is an outstanding, well managed property. Right on the sand, the beach is very nice. The pool is very nice. Everything is very nice. Costly, too.

We would return in a heartbeat.

Of note - the on-site restaurants are unusually excellent for a hotel or resort restaurants.

We absolutely loved Jasmine's Porch, their moderate-priced restaurant. Excellent, authentic, very tasty southern dishes.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling-Buckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    153
    60
    25
    19
See reviews for
308
559
10
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A beautiful hotel! The staff is wonderful, always smiling, willing to help. Manager, Michael, a consummate professional. They go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. Be aware that this is a very expensive hotel, but aside from the $56 Sunday breakfast buffet (where the food is delish, but the price too high), you get exactly what you pay for! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms on the south(?) side are closer to the pool & restaurants, but noise is not a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia_Dawg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Sanctuary for a week, it was incredibly memorable. While the property is located in a prime location, the staff is what really makes this Hotel so special- they were truly accommodating and sincere.
The rooms are very pleasant; I had an Ocean facing King. The beds are amazing, as are the linens and accessories. I had a minor problem with the TV, reported it to housekeeping and it was resolved within minutes. The room service was timely and delicious.
The car ride to Charleston is about 30 minutes, but you really don’t need to leave if you want to purely relax. Biking on the beach, and through the community was the highlight, the beach is wide and expansive and very clean. The pools are inviting. Overall an exceptional resort. While I never used the spa, the treatments seemed very pricey, thus the 4.

Room Tip: Ocean front, away from Elevators. Of course, higher floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveloften32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Everything was great. It's a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. Loved it! Everywhere we ate was good. Great burger on room service. Loved the fish restaurant at the Ocean Course. Didn't give service a 5 as I thought the door men/valet people were very poor. When we arrived (it must be noted we were in the worst rental car EVER don't use Budget - it must have been a 20 year old cop car) we had to unload our own bag and it was several mins later before they came to help. I've a toddler in a stroller, and maybe it's not their job to open doors, but only once in 5 days did they help me. If I'd had golf clubs and not a baby they'd have helped so perhaps they are only there to help golfers. This moan is longer then it needs to be as this was really a small issue and why I didnt give service a 5. Otherwise everything else was perfect. Great spot. Can't wait to go back (without the stroller!). Also for you Moms out there the crib was a great size, nice and big like my little guys at home and they also left J&J baby products for him which I thought was a lovely thoughtful and welcoming touch.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CtHelsBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed here one night. It is a beautiful property with amazing views. It is really really expensive, but we knew that going in - which is why we only stayed one night. The rooms are HUGE and the beds are comfortable, almost too soft. The bathroom we had was amazing: nicer and larger than any other hotel bathroom I have seen.

We spent the day at the pool. Its a great area. They have a large bar area, kids area and and an adult only pool - which is too small the but thought counts. They did, however, run out of towels, which at the price we paid was inexusable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ekob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
439 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,141 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
439 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#1 of 62 in Charleston
843 reviews
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Property: The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 34,403 - ₹ 53,859
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Charleston, SC, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort is an oceanfront Five Star/ Five Diamond hotel and spa offering casual Southern grace, comfort and charm on one of the top eco-friendly island in the U.S. It features five golf courses including The Ocean Course, site of the 2012 PGA Championship. Tennis magazine ranks it as America's No. 3 tennis resorts and it has one of the top-ranked beaches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Sanctuary Hotel Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Hotel At Kiawah Island Golf Resort South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing