We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spinnaker at Shipyard
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Spinnaker is OK. The units are pretty nice with plenty of room for small family. The pool is OK and rarely crowded. Its mostly older people and little to no activities for kids or young married people. Most people seemed to be 50+. I have been here numerous times and always the same. If you want a very quiet vacation with an older crowd and little to no activities this is your place! Just not for me and my family.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wooldric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Wonderful townhouse style condos that have been naively upgraded, including granite counters, flat screen Tvs. We had previously viewed travelers photos and we were quite worried that it seemed very dated but all the units have been updated. They were very clean, we didn'T see any insects at all. Unit was minimally supplied (small coffee maker and teeny mugs) Bring your own Beach towel.Overall it was a great stay at a gorgeous setting with our unit (423) close enough to walk or bike to the beach.We loved the the 2nd bedroom had it's own private bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterson, MN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

This was our second trip to Hilton Head. Last year we were oceanfront and it was spectacular. This year we were prepared to be disappointed with our "landlubber" location, but quite the contrary. Shipyard is a quiet, scenic, gated compound with lots of personality. Shaded lanes winding around tennis courts, swimming pool, fairways and a variety of water amenities. Our unit had a pristine pond steps away from our private patio. It had a lighted fountain and a regular feathered visitor-- an Egret, I believe. If you need the "big water", It is an easy walk or a very short drive, (car or furnished bike) to the Shipyard beach area. We walked the wonderful beach nearly every day. At the unit, be prepared for steps. It's a climb to the front door, and a second climb to the upstairs bedrooms. Our unit was fresh and beautifully decorated. The kitchen had everything except coffee filters. We were delighted to find a large, flat screen TV on the living room wall. It must have been 50" . There are TVs in the bedrooms as well. Another amazing feature was the master bath. Huge double sink area, large marble whirlpool with companion shower, soaring ceiling with a skylight. Very impressive! You'll love this place... we did. Only two things were of general concern: There wasn't a single smoke alarm or CO2 alarm in the unit, and we slept upstairs. Secondly, housekeeping apparently missed a rather large colony of black mold in the utility room. All said and done, we would be delighted to have the opportunity to return to Spinnaker, and hope to do so next year. Oh by the way... be sure to check out Dye's Gullah Fixin's.. best low country food you'll ever taste. Southern home cooking at it's very best!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suitemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

I'm all about ambiance and Spinnker at Shipyard Plantation has the quiet, laid-back, southern charm and ambiance that one would expect to find in South Carolina. Even in February, the days can reach a toasty 70 degrees. Cycling around the island on the complimentary bikes is what I choose to do, while G plays the links. Occasionally, after a hard day of golf, G will hop on the other bike and we'll ride to our favorite restaurant. Mostly, though, when it comes to dinner, we first enjoy doing some shopping on the island's ridicuously expensive gourmet grocery store and then spending most nights preparing wonderful meals in the well-stocked full kitchen. The only meal I generally cook at home during the year is Thanksgiving dinner, so I really enjoy cooking while on vacation. I usually take one day to cruise to Savannah for the experience of Riverfront shopping. We have already made our reservations for February and March of 2011, but we'll be staying at the other end of the Shipyard Plantation, at Egret Point. We prefer to travel to Hilton Head before the golf season heats up and the island gets busy. If you (Lobsterlvrs) are among the smoking, drinking, bowling, betting, loud, tattooed, nose-tongue-eyebrow-navel-hardware-sporting crowd, you'll better appreciate Myrtle Beach; Hilton Head is for the rugby, polo, tennis, golf playing, bicycle-riding, gourmet-food-eating-type crowd.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psycho_maven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We have owned week 41 at Spinnaker at Shipyard about 10 years and have taken one of our vacations there each and every year. Each year the facility and the amenities are better and if there should be a problem, it is handled pronto. A pleasant 10/15 minute walk to the beach and after reaching the beach, about 1.5 miles to Caligney Square, one of my favorite spots in Hilton Head. It is truly my week of total relaxation!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exclusivelyjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.1 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
2.8 km away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
256 reviews
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.6 km away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
2.3 km away
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinnaker at Shipyard? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker at Shipyard

Property: Spinnaker at Shipyard
Address: 10 Barcelona Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6306
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,034 - ₹ 26,842
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spinnaker at Shipyard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These spacious NON-SMOKING villas feature:sleeping maximum of 6 peoplefree daily Greens Fees * for up to 4 daily at Shipyard Golf Clubdaily tennis* at Van Der Meer Racquet Clubtwo free bicyclesfree wireless internet and free local and long distance callson-site pool and tennis courtsliving room features 36" screen cable television/DVD, stereo system, sleeper sofa, half bath and large picture windows dining room that seats 6 peoplelarge, well-equipped kitchen with granite countertops and breakfast counterlarge private decks for outside dining with great lagoon and golf views .full size washer and dryerking size bed, high ceilings and ceiling fan, cable television/DVD player and window seat in master bedroomgranite countertops, jetted tub, glass shower stall, high ceilings with skylights and double vanity in the master bath second bedroom has two twin beds, cable television/DVD player and private bath with tub/showersupervised children’s activities in season and pool party with live entertainment* Free Greens Fees and tennis at Van Der Meer Racquet Club are available to Hilton Head Accommodations rental guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Spinnaker at Shipyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker At Shipyard Hotel Hilton Head
Spinnaker Shipyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing