We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best”

Charlie's L'Etoile Verte
Ranked #5 of 392 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Visited mid week for a quiet evening and was pleasantly surprised. The wine, food and service were excellent. Had the scallops which were large and tasty plus the crème caramel for dessert was delightful. Other family had the Mahi and flounder and were also pleased. No doggy bags here as everything was consumed. A beautiful dinner with family.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jgemza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaux1982, General Manager at Charlie's L'Etoile Verte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you for choosing Charlie's for dinner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

What a great place for dinner. The food was fantastic and the service excellent. A new menu is prepared each day, so everything is really a special. Our server was very knowledgeable as to how each item was prepared, and was attentive without being noticeable. We both had seafood dishes, and the dishes were well prepared. The plates are served very hot, keeping the seafood warm the entire meal. A great place we will visit again!

1  Thank sellrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaux1982, General Manager at Charlie's L'Etoile Verte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you so much for choosing Charlie's for dinner, we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Husband and I stopped for lunch. I had the Cobb Salad and he had the Shrimp Salad. Presentation was nice, ample amount of food for lunch. Very good flavor.

Very neat, clean and quiet. Friendly staff.

1  Thank Trenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaux1982, General Manager at Charlie's L'Etoile Verte, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you for joining us for lunch, we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

This charming restaurant is perfect in every way-from the atmosphere, the menu, choices of wine and service. I found this on TripAdvisor and so glad we came here. From the good wine, to our choices of pate for a starter to the duck I had and the salmon my husband had , this was as good as any food we had in France at fine restaurants . Highly recommend. Note: If you like duck have this. Delicious!

Thank borntotravelOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaux1982, General Manager at Charlie's L'Etoile Verte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you for choosing Charlie's for dinner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Four of us ate here on Saturday night , February 10. This was during restaurant week , and two of us ordered from the special menu , and two from the regular menu . I ordered the Mahi , which was supposed to be the fresh catch of the day . Not only was it not fresh , but the filet was thin and overcooked - Unfortunately , as we were competing in the ACBL Bridge Tournament , I had no time to send it back !
Secondly , it was very obvious that those of us who ordered from the special menu, got 35% less food . ... making the dessert not an add on , after all . I would far rather have had the portion of fish ( if it was better ) that my friends ordered from the regular , and their twice my amount of potatoes .
Thirdly , , there is no excuse for not having authentic French baguettes! I I have been to Paris ,twice , Provence and all over the Riviera . I buy authentic baguettes for a nominal amount at Harris Teeter on Amelia Island , where I live .

2  Thank Dory310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaux1982, General Manager at Charlie's L'Etoile Verte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie's L'Etoile Verte also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charlie's L'Etoile Verte? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing