We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST if you are in Hilton Head”

Charlie's L'Etoile Verte
Ranked #6 of 398 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

This charming restaurant is perfect in every way-from the atmosphere, the menu, choices of wine and service. I found this on TripAdvisor and so glad we came here. From the good wine, to our choices of pate for a starter to the duck I had and the salmon my husband had , this was as good as any food we had in France at fine restaurants . Highly recommend. Note: If you like duck have this. Delicious!

Thank borntotravelOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaux1982, General Manager at Charlie's L'Etoile Verte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you for choosing Charlie's for dinner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2018

Four of us ate here on Saturday night , February 10. This was during restaurant week , and two of us ordered from the special menu , and two from the regular menu . I ordered the Mahi , which was supposed to be the fresh catch of the day . Not only was it not fresh , but the filet was thin and overcooked - Unfortunately , as we were competing in the ACBL Bridge Tournament , I had no time to send it back !
Secondly , it was very obvious that those of us who ordered from the special menu, got 35% less food . ... making the dessert not an add on , after all . I would far rather have had the portion of fish ( if it was better ) that my friends ordered from the regular , and their twice my amount of potatoes .
Thirdly , , there is no excuse for not having authentic French baguettes! I I have been to Paris ,twice , Provence and all over the Riviera . I buy authentic baguettes for a nominal amount at Harris Teeter on Amelia Island , where I live .

2  Thank Dory310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaux1982, General Manager at Charlie's L'Etoile Verte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Wonderful restaurant with Parisian trained chef. Outstanding service. Family owned and run. You just can’t do better than here!

Thank Mary Wadleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaux1982, General Manager at Charlie's L'Etoile Verte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you for choosing Charlie's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

What can I say, the atmosphere and food were spot on!!! The service is first class. Make reservations because it is always packed. I had the tuna and my husband had the salmon, we thought we would be getting tiny portions (french myth) instead we were pleasantly surprised.. unfortunately we did not have room for dessert!! next time!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suerusso22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaux1982, General Manager at Charlie's L'Etoile Verte, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

We are happy that you had a great experience, thank you for choosing Charlie's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Called for a last minute reservation on a Sat night (during Restaurant Week) and were pleasantly surprised that we could secure one about 90 minutes from the time of the call. Decided to go early anyway, to have drinks and kill an hour at the bar. The hostess said she would call us if a table opened up earlier and to our great surprise about 15 minutes later we were sitting at our table.

Everyone we had interactions with in the restaurant was extremely professional and friendly. The menu has a large number of seafood selections at reasonable prices for the marketplace. Entree prices seemed fair to me given the ambiance, service and food presentation. Duck breast for $28.00, and the grouper special for the evening was $34.00 with appropriately sized portions. The escargot were wonderfully tender with just the right amount of butter and garlic. The grouper was prepared perfectly and the topping of caramelized onions a very unique and pleasant addition. The duck breast was great tasting and served a bit more on the rare side than we usually see so if you order the duck make sure to specify what you prefer.

The dessert flan was excellent and the carrot cake with cream cheese frosting tasty but just a little bit dry ...although I did eat it all :)

We look forward to returning as the menu has lot's of great offerings.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dakota3496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaux1982, General Manager at Charlie's L'Etoile Verte, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for the detailed feedback, we appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie's L'Etoile Verte also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charlie's L'Etoile Verte? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing