We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful View, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Peaceful View, Great Staff”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My family stayed at the hotel for the last week in April. It is located on Broad Creek and has beautiful views of the creek. It is like being at a nature preserve if you get a room with a water view, I think the view helped make the vacation. The hotel is peaceful, tranquil, not overly crowded or crawling with young children. We had our two with us and they loved it! Because it is not a HUGE property, the staff offers excellent service. They remembered our name and helped us make great choices for our stay. Cullen and Kevin were amazing with great suggestions. Kevin booked us for dinner one night at The Old Oyster Factory, he even requested a server for us (Nick). We were seated at a beautiful table and had great service from Nick. The hotel is also centrally located, so you don't have to drive to far in any one direction to get to different locations on the Island. It has beach access across the street at Palmetto Dunes. It was perfect for our needs.

I found that the only drawbacks to staying here were 1. It is s a bit outdated and 2. the pool was small. Not uncomfortably so, just in need of new living room furniture. Our couch and chairs looked a bit worn. And the pool is small if you have young kids. Not to small for their enjoyment, but small compared to other resorts. I understand they will be updating in the future. It was still well worth the stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RASG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    93
    36
    4
    3
See reviews for
133
90
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
naperville
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed here for a week. It was a time share exchange. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. It was a good location. We were able to walk to restaurants.
It was nicely furnished and clean.
We did see a cock roach. We called the desk and they had someone up to spray within the hour. It was a Sunday night. Found a couple of dead ones later on the floor the next day.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank onthego1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
365 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We returned here again for our third year. The service we received from the Manager and two of his Associates was First Class. The property is TIRED and due for a renovation which as we understand it is planned. Great location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BonVoyage555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We began our one week stay at this resort during the last week of January. We're always a bit leery when we stay somewhere new, but this place was just one pleasant surprise after another. Our check-in was very pleasant, courteous and friendly. We were provided with all the info we needed, and our questions were answered regarding dining options. We were assigned to a room on the 5th floor of the Pelican building. Great room! Great view! We had the most awesome view of the marsh and the waterway. There was a balcony with a view, both bedrooms had a great view, and one wall of the living was a window. Totally awesome! There was a fireplace in the living room as well as a large screen tv. The room was very, very, very clean. This resort is an older building that has been renovated, and it's the best work I've ever seen. We eventually walked through the grounds, checked out the swimming area, gym area, and even played a few games of ping pong out by the pool. Out by the gazebo where the second pool is, they have a super-size chess board that is fun.

They have swings along the marsh where you can enjoy the beautiful view and watch the pelicans diving and fishing. Every single morning we saw the dolphins swimming up Broadcreek on their breakfast run. Every person we interacted with at the facility was very polite and friendly. It was really a pleasure being there. Just about every day we saw workers performing upkeep and maintenance, such as refinishing the swings, repainting the lines in the parking lot, dusting the railings, etc. Every aspect of the resort is immaculate. The person who is in charge of maintaining this resort deserves an award, and other resorts could take a big lesson from the way this one is managed. KUDOS!!!!

If I had to talk about negatives, there are few. The biggest one being the sliding glass doors in both bedrooms. They do not seal properly. So if the wind happens to be blowing, it makes its way through leaks in those doors and makes a terrible howling sound. The loudness of the howling depends on how hard the wind is blowing. On one occasion, I had to leave the master bedroom, shut the door, and sleep on the sofa because it sounded like a train was coming through the master bedroom. The only way we could figure out to get the howling to stop was to open the sliding doors about six inches. That might be okay in the summer, but isn't that much fun in January/February. Even with the sliding door closed and locked, you can lay on the bed and watch the curtains move. So, I guess they need to replace those doors or reseal them. In any case, they need to do something.

The other thing, and I know this is nitpicking, but the quality of the paper goods (paper towels, kleenex, toilet paper) was very poor quality. Even one notch better quality would be a vast improvement.

But if you're thinking of staying at this resort, don't take these two minor things to heart! It is a GREAT place to say and we will DEFINITELY be going back!

Room Tip: All of the buildings have rooms facing the marsh/creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ljk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
2,595 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,916 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Marriott’s Harbor Pointe is an older resort, and varies in design from “newer properties.” Mariott’s Harbor Pointe offers large, free, blacktop parking as opposed to the “under unit” parking at the newer properties. Marriott’s Harbor Pointe is located within the Shelter Cove development, directly west of Palmetto Dunes Plantation. Shelter Cove is at the lower lacing of the “shoe” (island.)

Marriott’s Harbor Pointe is located directly on Broad Creek. The resort faces west, and the views of the marshes, Broad Creek, and the sunset are delightful. The balcony is secluded with a close lagoon with fountain, and a view of the all weather swimming pool.
The setting includes live green oaks and the ever-present palm trees.

The unit seems small and in dramatic need of a real designer. The furniture requires updating, and there are a variety of methods for a designer to transform a plebian interior into a real showcase. The few wall hangings seem appropriate, the LED TVs are nice, but the units deserve some tender loving care. Without question Marriott’s Harbor Pointe is clean and well maintained. The interior lighting is adequate. The exterior is pleasant cream stucco with faded red tile roofs. Overall Marriott’s Harbor Pointe is inviting and provides an upscale holiday. The second bedroom is small with two twin beds.

Room Tip: All villa units view the Broad River and are well maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SavantIII_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
4.8 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.9 km away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#7 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
8.0 km away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.5 km away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
3.1 km away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove

Property: Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
Address: 4 Shelter Cove Ln, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3543
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,020 - ₹ 28,547
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Harbour Point And Sunset Pointe At Shelter Cove Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing