We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What more could you ask?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“What more could you ask?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

This is a lovely resort where we've stayed before. it has it all - the beach right there, heated pool and spa (especially nice in the winter which is when we usually go), lots to do on-site and nearby; planned outings if you want; bikes. Biking trails on Hilton Head is especially beautiful, as is the whole island. Lots of good restaurants on the island and grills on-site if you want. This resort is smaller than some which is a real advantage, as far as I'm concerned. You can see the beautiful gardens well from any unit and at least glimpse the ocean from most.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mountaingal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    101
    27
    12
    4
See reviews for
156
80
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stopped staying here when we moved to Hilton Head, but our children and grandchildren use the timeshare now. The location cannot be beat. 1 building is oceanfront, and the other buildings are described as 'garden-view'. I believe there are 440 units, so it is smaller than most timeshare properties. What I like the most is there is some shade near the pool, so I can keep from roasting in the sun. There is a small workout area in what used to be a gigantic lobby. There is golf across the street, and some golf packages at other golf courses on the island(the island is 12 miles long). Kayaking and fishing are available off the property. There are grills for the nights you get tired of going out to dinner. Hilton Head Island has great restaurants, but you will need a car.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Retired_traveler_HHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We spent nine nights at the Marriott's Monarch located in Sea Pines on Hilton Head Island, South Carolina in a two bedroom, two bath villa. For seven nights there were just my husband and myself staying there until my brother came down for two nights. We had plenty of space whether there were two of us or three of us....my brother is one of those big tall guys who stayed in the guest bedroom that was furnished with what seemed to be an over sized twin beds.. . Yes, the villas are smaller than the newer built condos, the property is smaller than some of the other resorts.and this development is 30 (gasp) years old. That being said, the property has been kept up-to-date in every way. The ocean is only a few steps away as this is an ocean front property.. The staff goes out of its way to make you feel welcome. When I entered our villa, the first thing I noticed is how updated (granite counter tops rather than coriann (mssp)) the villa was from our stay a few years ago. There are starter packs of washing powders, plenty of paper towels, and cleaning supplies in case you don't want to use the dishwasher. All of the furnishings were well coordinated and in excellent condition. The entire space was spic and span. Not a flaw in the housekeeping department. Next came the hospitality... Sunday night you are welcomed with a wine and cheese social. Then there is a breakfast for the guests on Tuesday and mimosas on Wed. all of which are complimentary. There is a manned desk to help you with plans and answer questions. A fairly long list of activities are available if you want to participate or not. The grounds themselves are welcoming and lend themselves to usage. There is a heated pool close to the ocean. Grills are under the gazebo for a special steak. There is even a little herb garden to add a special touch to your cooking. It is a short drive to some of the best restaurants on the island. Bikes are available for rent and bike paths are fun to explore. We had a great time. I am ready to go again!!!

Room Tip: We had a garden view which is quite attractive. There are only a handful of ocean front villas on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kfransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, TX
Level Contributor
260 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

The Monarch is one of the older stays on the Hilton Head Island. However, it has not lost its shine. Located in Sea Pines Plantation provides added security. The Monarch's beach front location is a dream. Located near are every form of indulgence one could wish. It is easy to see the staff takes pride in their facility. Walk, bike, fish, swim, boat, eat, drink and be merry.

Room Tip: Request a high room facing the Atlantic Ocean. The trees have grown over the years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

A few girlfriends and I stayed here for the weekend and had a great time. Everything was perfect, from the ease of check-in to the very clean room and the beautiful grounds. It was a great location, we were able to walk on the beach and also ride our bikes to Coligny Plaza and the Salty Dog with out any issues.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank can37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.8 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
13.8 km away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
2.4 km away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
6.2 km away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.8 km away
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Marriott's Grande Ocean
#3 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines

Property: Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Address: 91 N Sea Pines Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6002
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,084 - ₹ 41,130
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Monarch At Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing