We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Family Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Family Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Our family spent the week at Barony the last week of August and had a pretty enjoyable time. My wife and I have two small children age 3 and 10 mo. and we also took my parents. The complex itself is a little spread out and it can take 5-10 minutes to walk from one end to the other which can be a little bit of a challenge with small children and grandparents. Not a huge deal but something to be mindful of when planning your trip. The two main pools are very nice and the zero entry aspect is ideal for small children. The only slight drawback of the pools is that only the beach side pool is heated. The more kid oriented pool on the garden side of the property is not heated and could be a bit chilly early in the day or if the sun was not out. During our stay there was a bad storm and the property lost power for a couple of hours. We noticed that not all of the emergency lights worked in the walkways and stairwells which was a little disconcerting but the staff brought around flashlights and were very helpful. All in all our experience with the staff was positive, most were friendly and curtious. We would stay again and would recommend it to others.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    214
    52
    19
    12
See reviews for
387
191
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

The employees at Barony Beach were all polite and helpful. Barony Beach is located in the Port Royal Plantation, with a beautiful golf course. The property was manicured and landscaped beautifully. The rooms were spacious and immaculate. The beach was wide, clean and ran for miles in either direction. There are 3 outdoor pools and one indoor pool located off the lobby. There are 4 buildings which are closets to the ocean and offer oceanview and oceanfront locations. The other 2 buildings are separated by the entrance road to the Westin Hotel. We stayed in the Jasmine building on the 3rd floor facing the pool, which was recently reopened with a giant waterslide. The 2 bedroom unit was the largest we've stayed in at a Marriott timeshare, due to the fact that it was not dividable into an efficiency and a 1 bedroom. The smaller room had a king sized bed and the larger 2 doubles. There is room for a roll out bed if needed. The living room has a pull out sofa.
Each room has a flat screen TV and all the units have free wifi, which worked well at times and not perfect at times. There is no wired connection available in the rooms. The lobby has a computer room to print free boarding passes, but charges a per minute fee for internet access, which I found unusual for a Marriott.
The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and utensils, but bring your own salt and pepper. There are several large food stores within a mile of the property as well as a super Walmart, which has a full line of foods.
There is a jitney shuttle which runs daylight hours between the 2 out buildings and the beach buildings. It runs past your pickup about every 5 minutes. There are plenty of lounges by the pools with plenty of umbrellas. They are more in demand at the pool by the beach, but the ones by the "out" buildings were easily available. There are beach chairs and umbrellas available from the beach patrol for $18 from 1-5pm or $32 all day. The Marriott does offer beach chairs for $5/day and we bought a cheap umbrella from Walmart for $8 and left it for the next guests.
There is a snack restaurant by the ocean pool, which serves salads, burgers, etc all day. Pretty good quality at somehwat reasonable prices.
If I went back, I would try and stay in one of the 4 "beach" buildings, but the "out" buildings were not too much of an inconvenience.
All in all, we all enjoyed the week and would go back again.

Room Tip: If you can stay in one of the 4 ocean buildings on the3rd, 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ratty_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We chose to exchange our week (St. Thomas, Frenchman's Cove) for something a little closer to home this year, and ended up with a week at Barony Beach Club. We were so impressed with Hilton Head Island, and specifically with Barony. It is a huge, sprawling resort with three outdoor pools, at least 4 hot tubs, shuffle board courts, corn hole boards, ping pong tables, ample areas to sit in the shade, watch TV, eat, and grill and although the resort was sold out, it never felt crowded. The new "Wetlands" area is beautiful as is the ocean "no entry" pool. The new pool bar and grill 'All Y'All's" has great food and drinks and the staff (Courtney and Lindsey) are fun and friendly. I enjoyed the number of scheduled activities that were not just for children. My husband and I competed in a corn hole tournament with other guests and took the free bus tour of Hilton Head that the Barony provided. Miss Nettie, Megan, and the rest of the staff were helpful and friendly. The beach access is close to the ocean front pool, but about a 5-7 minute walk from the Wetlands. We were told that the tram ran every 5 minutes from the Wetlands to the Ocean Side, but we only saw the tram once during our week. The beach is beautiful, there are bikes and chairs and umbrellas you can rent, as well as beach side Cabana's for $60 a day that include an attendant. Because we drove from home we were also able to explore the rest of the island. We enjoyed dinner at "The Old Oyster Factory" on the recommendation of our concierge Debbie who also called and put us on the Marriott preferred list which got us a table as soon as we arrived even though there was an hour wait. We also had lunch at the famous Salty Dog Cafe and visited the Harbour Town Lighthouse which are all just about a 15 or 20 minute drive from Barony. I was a little nervous about the Palmetto bugs in SC, but was pleased that we only had one instance of a bug in our room, (right near the front door way, and only saw a few on the property during our week. Our two bedroom suite was beautiful, liked the bathroom set up, although the vanity could be updated. The Market Place was so much more than a place to just pick up items that you may have forgotten to pack. the Market Place sells hot lunches and also includes a full service Pizza Hut and Starbucks. (Happy hour Frappaccino's from 3pm-5pm) The European Spa was beautiful. My husband and I received a Side by Side Massage and because we had attended an open house at the spa earlier in the week, we received 20% off our treatment. There was a vm every day with the weather forecast and scheduled activities for the day. There is a B-iLo grocery store just minutes from the resort, and several other shopping centers nearby, including Tanger outlets (great deals at the Coach store!). As a first timer to Hilton Head, I was sorry when our week was over, although we did extend our trip by a few days as we visited Savannah GA, which is just about a 45 minute drive from the island. I would recommend this destination and resort to anyone who is looking for a fun, relaxing beach vacation.

Room Tip: We were told that because we exchanged into Barony, and did not own there, that we would be in the W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A1977C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We often rent a week of timeshare from websites and have chosen each time to stay at Marriott because of the quality and service. Barony Beach was no exception. The grounds were lovely, clean, and well maintained. We were in the Jasmine building (garden villas). If you can't be oceanfront, this is the place the stay. Although you have a 7 minute walk to the ocean, the pool by the garden villas is the best pool on the grounds. A very large water slide and wonderful kids area and splash ground. We were travelling with 2, 11 year olds and a 15 month old. I would not want to stay in the Oaks section, as the view is not as nice as ours (of the big pool) and I did notice the grills on the Oaks section are right in the middle and were pouring smoke each time we walked by. I would think they need to be cleaned! Anyway, if you were in that section you would not really enjoy your balcony as much as a result of the lack of view and constant smell of grilling food! That would really be my only critique at all. We loved the unit. Furniture neat and clean. A little dated in appearance, but clean and not run down. I would definately return to Barony Beach!

Room Tip: See review. Stay Oceanfront or Garden villas. Not Oaks villas. Reasons stated above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mln10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

During my week-long stay at the Barony Beach Club we had 8 guests in our condo. The location was beautiful and easily accessible. Parking was very convenient and out building was easy to find. Our condo was clean and stocked with the supplies we needed. It was a little cramped for 8 people, but we made it work. Up to this point we didn't have any problems. The issues we did have we're with the pool staff - or should I say police staff. Everyday someone went around to each individual and asked to see their wristband. They weren't very discreet and would always interrupt what you were doing. We also discovered people weren't aloud to throw water balls in the pool because of "past experiences" - none of which were explained to us. We just had to live with it. Another "rule" that wasn't written anywhere was that you couldn't put your chair close to the water. If you did they would kick you out. The staff wasn't discreet about any warnings or disciplines. They would shout if you did something wrong. We never knew we were doing anything wrong because half of these "rules" weren't posted anywhere. I enjoy quiet peaceful vacations, not worrying if I'm going to get yelled at every few moments. Other than the staff at the pool, everyone else was pleasant and our vacation was wonderful. Not sure if I will return because I spend most of my time at the pool and it was not enjoyable at the Barony Beach Club.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebest86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
10.1 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
13.7 km away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
14.5 km away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
6.5 km away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
11.1 km away
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Marriott's Grande Ocean
#3 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Barony Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Address: 5 Grasslawn Ave, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5546
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,659 - ₹ 44,473
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Barony Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clear you mind poolside at Marriott's Barony Beach Club. Nestled on in infamous Hilton Head, South Carolina, your feet will be covered in sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Barony Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Barony Beach Club Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Barony Beach Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing