We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worth ANY wait. ”

Low country Backyard
Ranked #19 of 393 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 23
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Authentic Lowcountry Style Cuisine prepared the way it used to be. All homemade, delicious Crab Cakes, Fried Green Tomato BLT's, Banana pudding, Seafood, Soups, Salads and sandwiches, just to name a few. Fresh desserts and cakes prepared daily. Dine inside, or outside in a classic, Lowcountry Backyard garden complete with porch swing and flickering lamps. Relax and share food, stories and advice with each other. Definitely, make yourself at home. Welcome!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Be ready to chill. Peak times are a little wider lately since the owners went and got famous from so many TV show features. THE FOOD AND SERVICE ARE WORTH IT. Fussy reviewer should have sampled the moonshine! At least our family’s 10th GREAT visit. Ask wait staff to order FOR you. Zero regrets!

1  Thank scultimatefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 3,031 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Okay southern cooking, always crowded and loud. Service was awful, waited 1.5 hours for a burnt meal, no refund. Then waited 45 min for waitress to bring check back. There’s better restaurants on the island that have more options, more seating and better quality food. Save your money, go to One hot mamas or Kenny Bees

Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LowcountryBackyard, Owner at Low country Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

So sorry to hear of your bad experience! If you read other reviews, one and two star reviews make up only 1% of our guests experiences. We would definitely love to do better than that and every review, good or bad helps us with that goal. Please ask for a manager in any situation where you are happy or unhappy with your service. Their goal is to make it right with you but they cannot if they don't know what happened. We would never expect payment for a meal that was unsatisfactory. If you can give us the opportunity to try again, please send me a message and I will make sure that we do a great job for you. Thanks for trying us. Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

First let me say the three rating is due totally to the good food. Service was terribly slow and none too friendly, until I complained. When the waitress was asked if the shrimp and grits was available in kids size, she said no. Then the waitress for the next table told them they could have half portion! But the most annoying was the very long wait, and yet the couple who came after us and ordered many of the same things theirs was served almost immediately. Staff were all over them. Didn’t seem to mind that we were still waiting. Finally I complained, then a little more service. Again, food was fine, but I won’t hurry back. They should treat all customers well, not just some. Got an apology, but a little late.

Thank Elliemae2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We love this restaurant. Favorite is the grilled shrimp salad with bacon and fried green tomatoes. They don't take reservations, and we tried to get in a second time and the wait was an hour. Must say they had the wait list automated, and although we didn't wait, it was nice to have that option. We've never sat inside, but it looks cozy. We like the outdoor space, there is music sometimes and games to play while you wait.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 4NJTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LowcountryBackyard, Owner at Low country Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your nice compliment. We love to hear when we got it right! We appreciate your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Found this place on a cloudy day drive while on vacation. One word.....AMAZING! Fun, eclectic and yummy food. You have to save room for either the key lime pie or banana pudding. Wow! And they have moonshine flights! Apple pie and peach are the best.

1  Thank Jodi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LowcountryBackyard, Owner at Low country Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

I also love the moonshine which is why it is on the menu. We really appreciate your great feedback. Thanks for dining with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Low country Backyard also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Low country Backyard? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing