We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Exquisite Thai Cuisine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruan Thai

Ruan Thai
Ranked #74 of 359 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 26
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exquisite Thai Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have been frequent patrons of Ruan Thai since they opened quite a few years ago. The food is always delicious and prepared just right----especially their fish (usually snapper) and pad thai-----the latter with the most exquisite and subtle flavors and texture. It has certainly become one of our favorite Hilton Head restaurants.

This is not an overly Americanized thai restaurant as the food is quite authentic and the service from the mostly Thai waitstaff is usually efficient and courteous unless they are slammed which occurs from to time to time during peak tourist season.

All in all, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pennyhobby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    115
    33
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Another Great Meal at Ruan Thai!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We ate hear on Mother's Day for dinner during our recent 1-week stay on HHI. What a great meal! Nice veggie options, non-Thai options for the younger children, and great service. One of our best meals all week. Fresh tasting and delicious!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TrpReviwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
120 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food... Service not so much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Thai would not typically be my first choice for dinner on vacation, but it was my bride's turn to choose the restaurant for the night. Turned out to be a pretty good call on her part. Not sure what it was called, but I thoroughly enjoyed a seafood dish served in a hollowed-out pineapple. Fresh seafood with fresh fruit in a mild curry sauce that didn't overwhelm the plate. It was excellent. We also enjoyed the crab appetitizer a lot.

The only disappointing part was the service. While we appreciated not being rushed and our server was friendly, we waited for quite awhile between courses and even longer to settle the check.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JYDConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Lakes, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thai Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

On a recent visit to Hilton Head my friends and I ate at Ruan Thai Restaurant. We initially debated on going with Thai food but quickly had NO doubt this was the place to eat.
The staff was extremely pleasant and food exceptional. They served six women with individual requests and met them all. Now that's a feat!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I can almost say that I am a Thai food Connoisseur. Every dish is prepared elegantly. Very Classy, and upscale. Have dined here several times during my visit to HHI.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruan Thai also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ruan Thai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing