We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
California, USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Better than Expected!”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This is a solid time share property. As Marriott owners, who exchanged into this vacation, we were a little doubtful about what we would experience. Our 2 bed, 2 bath, full kitchen/dining/ living room and full sized laundry did not disappoint at all. Clean, well located, off the beach....not a problem for us. Donna gave my husband excellent information concerning eating, touring and general orientation. Every restaurant was great and the included bikes made our stay even more fun. Eric the "golf guy" was the best. Figured us out right away and got tee times in a twinkle. When one of our party needed an Urgent Care facility Waterside knew just where to send us. Yes, the decor is a little dated but are you really in the room that much???? The pool area lovely and many activities were offered. Kitchens fully appointed. You can cook up a storm here if you like. Walking distance to the Piggley Wiggley and BiLo. Have a great time!

Room Tip: Loved the condos closer to the road to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tootbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    117
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
128
78
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

First I want to state that we didn't even stay there. We walked in to ask about a reservation made in our name and the individual at the check-in desk was so rude, unhelpful and dismissive that we simply left and found another place to stay. Never in our lives have we been treated this way!

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
20 Thank thymetoparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
506 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at Waterside as part of a time share promotion. The room was very clean, very large & very comfortable. The pool is very nice & the resort had daily activities. The staff was friendly. The only downside was it is located 2 long blocks from the beach. Once there the beach was very nice. We had a great relaxing time.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StevenHScher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Still at the resort. I must admit that I did have minor reservations around quality of the property and it's location (beach access) prior to coming here. Regarding the unit, we are in a large and expansive 3 br on the 5th floor...decent views with large balconies. Flat screen tv in the living with a decent music system that I could pipe my iPhone loaded music into. Rest is as described by the previous poster.
The place is nice and comfortable for a family vacation. It's not Marriott quality but just a tad notch below more like a 3.5*...furnishings are not dated or cheap but are not luxurious either...Let's just say it was designed on a budget but with money well spent. The photos do not do it justice...it is better in person.

Location is decent. We requested for the 5200 building which makes it a few minutes longer to the pool but that much shorter to the beach. From the unit via Avocet ave is about 7 min of leisurely walk with strollers. About 3 city blocks. coligny plaza is about 2 min/one city block via Avocet. and the whole path is shaded via trees. Coligny has piggly wiggly grocery store and decent selection of restaurants.

the resort has decent pools and activities. The kids are more into beach and pool. Enough gas grills and playground to boot.

I prefer Marriott Barony beach on the island. That said, I would pick waterside over the other marriotts as the little drop in quality more than makes up for the location...access to coligny and beach...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank B0urne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My family of 5 (2 couples, one 17yr old) had a great time at Waterside. We stayed just after high season, from 8/20-8/27. Kids in the south are back in school so it's a good time to go, but you risk hurricane season. We had to cut our trip short by 1 day due to Irene. Here's the bottom line as I see it:
1. VERY spacious units.
2. Some say beds are too hard. My family preferred them as many of us have back problems and need firm mattresses. Perfect for us.
3. Two of the 3 BR's are masters, with king beds, walk in showers and jacuzzi tubs. A REAL 2 master layout. The bedrooms are very separate from one another, which was a great layout. The third bedroom entry is across from the kitchen, has 2 twin beds, and it's own bath, which is also accessible to the main living space. There is a balcony space off the living area. Our view was treetop, so we had a lot of privacy. Again, there is PLENTY of room. Elevators to every floor and covered parking.
4. The kitchen has full sized appliances, and a w/d in an adjacent closet. We cooked in every night except 1. Well equipped. You might want to bring things like a muffin pan, cookie sheet, if you need that. The prep knives were not great, but at least there was enough for serving, cooking and prep. Better than most weekly rental units for sure. Email me if you want more details on this part.
5. We stayed in the 5300 bldg which is one of the closest to the beach (4-5 blocks) and by the children's pool. This is a quiet part of the resort, away from the main pool, but certainly close enough. The children's pool has 2 grills, and a nice place to relax while grilling as it's often deserted after 4-5pm.
6. IMO units are not "dated" as some would say, but furnishings and decoration are basic, clean, in very good condition, and comfortable. It's not the Ritz, so don't expect that.
7. Most accomodations on the island are not that close to things like a grocery store, liquor store, etc. With Coligny basically 2 blocks away, it's really an extremely convenient spot. If you are flying in, you really don't need a car if you're planning on just doing a beach vaca. Just rent bikes. Ours were fine. We used the Bike Doctor. They delivered and picked up as they all do. $22-25 a week depending if your resort has a contract with the bike co. If you don't want to commit, there's a shop literally 2 blocks from the resort. None of the bikes on island have gears or hand brakes as they would be destroyed by the sand. Think the first bike you ever had: push back to brake. But everything's so flat that you don't need gears.
8. Hilton Head is beautiful, very family oriented, no night life, rather quiet but lots to do during the day. Some say there is no surf, and I'm sure that's true at times. We had plenty. We took a long bike on the beach.
9. Hilton Head is HOT and STICKY in late August! Maybe that's why it was quiet. No lines at restaurants, no problems parking at Forest Beach right at Coligny, no traffic, etc. The water is quite warm, and for some from the NorthEast, sometimes too warm. I loved it.
10. I liked Waterside for the units and the location. But the staff at the main building were not the most helpful or friendly. Too bad. Otherwise it would be outstanding. Found out at the last minute as we're running out due to Irene that we needed to strip the bed, and basically clean the unit. Thanks for the heads up before hand! I wouldn't buy here, ever, because of the management. The folks running the kids programs were great though. And I understand housekeeping is great too. I would do this resort only on trade, which is what I did.

Room Tip: 5300 building is quiet, closer to the beach and Coligny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank litetravellerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.7 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.0 km away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
254 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
3.4 km away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
9.6 km away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Property: Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
Address: 45 Waterside Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4735
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,821 - ₹ 23,454
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfill your leisure desires and access all island activities from the preserved setting of this vacation resort just two blocks from the beach. Walk to the beach or hop on the seasonal shuttle. Dry off long enough to enjoy golf, tennis and proximity to beach restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside By Spinnaker Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing