We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My family of 5 (2 couples, one 17yr old) had a great time at Waterside. We stayed just after high season, from 8/20-8/27. Kids in the south are back in school so it's a good time to go, but you risk hurricane season. We had to cut our trip short by 1 day due to Irene. Here's the bottom line as I see it:
1. VERY spacious units.
2. Some say beds are too hard. My family preferred them as many of us have back problems and need firm mattresses. Perfect for us.
3. Two of the 3 BR's are masters, with king beds, walk in showers and jacuzzi tubs. A REAL 2 master layout. The bedrooms are very separate from one another, which was a great layout. The third bedroom entry is across from the kitchen, has 2 twin beds, and it's own bath, which is also accessible to the main living space. There is a balcony space off the living area. Our view was treetop, so we had a lot of privacy. Again, there is PLENTY of room. Elevators to every floor and covered parking.
4. The kitchen has full sized appliances, and a w/d in an adjacent closet. We cooked in every night except 1. Well equipped. You might want to bring things like a muffin pan, cookie sheet, if you need that. The prep knives were not great, but at least there was enough for serving, cooking and prep. Better than most weekly rental units for sure. Email me if you want more details on this part.
5. We stayed in the 5300 bldg which is one of the closest to the beach (4-5 blocks) and by the children's pool. This is a quiet part of the resort, away from the main pool, but certainly close enough. The children's pool has 2 grills, and a nice place to relax while grilling as it's often deserted after 4-5pm.
6. IMO units are not "dated" as some would say, but furnishings and decoration are basic, clean, in very good condition, and comfortable. It's not the Ritz, so don't expect that.
7. Most accomodations on the island are not that close to things like a grocery store, liquor store, etc. With Coligny basically 2 blocks away, it's really an extremely convenient spot. If you are flying in, you really don't need a car if you're planning on just doing a beach vaca. Just rent bikes. Ours were fine. We used the Bike Doctor. They delivered and picked up as they all do. $22-25 a week depending if your resort has a contract with the bike co. If you don't want to commit, there's a shop literally 2 blocks from the resort. None of the bikes on island have gears or hand brakes as they would be destroyed by the sand. Think the first bike you ever had: push back to brake. But everything's so flat that you don't need gears.
8. Hilton Head is beautiful, very family oriented, no night life, rather quiet but lots to do during the day. Some say there is no surf, and I'm sure that's true at times. We had plenty. We took a long bike on the beach.
9. Hilton Head is HOT and STICKY in late August! Maybe that's why it was quiet. No lines at restaurants, no problems parking at Forest Beach right at Coligny, no traffic, etc. The water is quite warm, and for some from the NorthEast, sometimes too warm. I loved it.
10. I liked Waterside for the units and the location. But the staff at the main building were not the most helpful or friendly. Too bad. Otherwise it would be outstanding. Found out at the last minute as we're running out due to Irene that we needed to strip the bed, and basically clean the unit. Thanks for the heads up before hand! I wouldn't buy here, ever, because of the management. The folks running the kids programs were great though. And I understand housekeeping is great too. I would do this resort only on trade, which is what I did.

Room Tip: 5300 building is quiet, closer to the beach and Coligny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank litetravellerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 252 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

This was our first visit both to Hilton Head Island and to the Waterside by Spinnaker resort. We were extremely pleased with both, and definitely look forward to returning.

The unit was very spacious, and was the largest two-bedroom timeshare I have visited. There was a very large comfortable living area with a flat panel TV and DVD player. The dining table was large enough to seat 8. The appliances were not new, but in good condition and worked well. The kitchen was the best equipped that I have seen in a timeshare. There were at least 8 place settings of dishes and silver, and about 20 large glasses. In this extremely hot weather, we also appreciated the very effective icemaker. It kept up with our high demand on ice. We cooked all of our dinners in the timeshare except one. There were plenty of pots and pans.

The bedrooms had old CRT type TVs, but they worked fine. The bathrooms were fairly plain, but decent sized. There was an ample sized balcony with a table and 4 chairs, and it had a great view overlooking a lagoon. There are several lagoons and "green belt" areas around Waterside, which add to the beauty. This is also the case for the entire island.

We had one minor maintenance problem (a hair dryer wouldn't work), and it was fixed within 30 minutes of reporting it. The staff was very friendly, and check-in was fast and efficient. We were never bothered with any type of sales pitch. There was a fairly extensive schedule of activities, and they were well attended and well led. Each day there was some type of craft activity, which my daughter and her friend enjoyed. There was a free wine and cheese reception one evening, and we arrived early expecting it to be gone in a few minutes (as we have experienced at other resorts). Not the case here. They kept bringing out more wine and cheese and had leftovers they were trying to give away at the end of the event.

There are 3 pools on the premises, and we primarily used the main pool that was in front of our unit. This pool has a large fountain running continuously, and we noticed that it actually cools the water a few degrees. We were in 4 other pools on the island during our trip, and the others felt like warm bath water (not very refreshing). But the Waterside pool felt much more comfortable due to the fountain. You could actually feel cool water running out at the base of the fountain as if the water was being refrigerated. There is also a children's pool, and this appeared to be a great place to vacation with small children. There are several gas grills around the pools that were popular with guests cooking their meals.

The absolute MUST DO when visiting HHI is to rent bikes for your stay. We got bikes from Bike Doctor for $25/week with an internet discount. They were delivered to the unit and picked up after our stay. HHI has over 50 miles of bike trails, and we explored much of the beautiful island using these. You can also bike along the beach itself. We were impressed that there are several large parcels of land that are set aside and protected from development by the town of HH.

Waterside is a short bike ride from the beach (or about a 10 minute walk). Conveniently nearby is the Coligny Plaza shopping district, which has a fascinating array of shops and restaurants. If you rent bikes, it is really not necessary to have a car during your visit, as there is so much to see and do nearby. We got our groceries at Publix, which was about a mile away. It had great selection and prices.

The only fees we had at checkout were for the arts and crafts activities. All in all, it was a fabulous vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Waterside several times and have always enjoyed it. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the grounds are great. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit in Building 5200 three nights this weekend. As always, the unit was very comfortable and clean. There were a lot of families there and they all seemed to be having fun. It is a great place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ron31069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Waterside by Spinnaker is actually a very nice base for a Vacation in Hilton Head. The name suggests a resort closer to the water.... that it is not.... but you are only a short walk or bike ride away.. maybe 5mins.. the name WaterClose would be better.. take the road that runs thru the resort till you can go no further and you will reach the beach. We found that if you move further down the beach and relax in front of the Holiday Inn they have a Tiki Bar that you can refresh yourself at as needed while you relax and watch some sand volleyball... or join in if you wish.. they also have some great live music playing. The Ocean is very shallow and you can walk out a great distance while staying at the same water height. There are LifeGuards on duty.. but attitude is rife.. young whipper snappers.. and if you rent a bike which I highly recommend then you can ride along the beach at any time. Biking is a great way to see things on Hilton Head and get some lite exercise. everyone seems to do it. Our Bikes were rented from "The Bike Doctor" and they were very well maintained and fun to ride... if you dont bring your own. < rate was about $25 for the WEEK >

You are also a short walk or ride from the Coligny Shops.. <correct spellign> - I would find the Publix as it is a superior shopping experience for groceries than the Piggly Wiggly which is a little closer.. avoid Saturday night at the grocery store however... it is a zoo with all new arrivals and you would think a Hurricane was approaching.. as fast as the shelves are being stocked the staple items are going.. At Coligny there is a Greek Restaurant that is NOT TO BE MISSED.. excellent Greek Homemade specialties.. Its All Greek To Me.. is the name.. seek it out you will love it.

Back to the resort....

The rooms are well lets say.. 'dated" although the unit we had did have a flatscreen tv in the living room only.. the bedrooms had now old style tvs from the 90's. High Speed Wireless Internet worked very well BUT and this is a bug BUT - you have to sign into to it each time you want to get on.. a biit of a pain.. once a day should be good enuf.. ? The beds were very hard but sleep-able and the couch is a pullout and may have been more comfortable than the bed. The Kitchen is fully equipped but run the dishwasher during the day.. at night it is so loud it will keep you awake.. unless you think it sounds like the Ocean.. ;-) - the bathrooms are great with standup shower cubicle. Furnishings very much need an update.. but ours were very nice compared to some of the pics I have seen on here. The apts have that typical seaside musty smell which in our case was almost smoky. We bought air freshener and used it liberally. We replaced the air filter in the AC unit which was was nasty.. and also the wrong size for the unit I might add by 2in in one dimension.. so had been folded over .. which would then not make it work correctly.. shabby maintenance.. especially for people who are paying such high fees to be a timeshare owner..

which brings me to the Front Desk.. rude rude rude rude rude.. really all I can say.. once you decline the invite to the Sales Pitch meeting... then the check in persons attitude changes from Day to Night... we had also requested the possibility of an upgrade... from a 2 bedrooms <for 6> to a 3 bedroom for better privacy.. and were told sorry they are all sold out.. we would have to make do with the 2 bedroom for six people.. we never even were given the opportunity to tell them we would pay for that if we needed to.. so they lost out on extra revenue.. Being a Travel Agent myself.. I checked the availability on my own work system before I left home and they had many 3 bedrooms left.. I also checked on the internet after unpacking.. and what do you know.. there were 3 bedrooms available.. HOWEVER word to the wise.. even though we would have been willing to pay for that 3 bedroom.. we actually found that the 2 bedroom was very sufficient for 6 of us.. 2 were on the pullout in the living room.. but turned out not to be as bad as it sounded.. so save your money and use it for the vacation instead of giving it to the Resort.. and buy tons of groceries and go out for a nice dinner few nights.. or rent the bikes.. rent a sun lounger at the beach..buy cocktails at the Holiday Inn Tiki Bar.. ;-) The pool areas at the resort were well taken care of but got very busy in the afternoons.. and be aware that there WILL be many children around during school holidays.. we went to the beach...

All in all this was a great family vacation and will live in memory. I will probably look into alternate accommodations for my next visit to Hilton Head..something more Ocean Front.This is primarily based on the check in attitude of the staff as well as the location.. now the location is great... but if Waterside is what you are hoping for based on the name.. it is not.. . Seems trivial right.. ? well my feeling is if the first few moments of the trip don't live up to your expectations and the staff attitude is poor at this key point.. then what else is lacking.. my clients tell me this is a spoiler and I have to agree.. I would recommend it if you are paying a minimal cost to stay here - it is functional - fairly clean - and a good base for operations.. if you can afford a little more and be oceanfront.. go ahead..

Room Tip: Unknown - i was not given the opportunity
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank pitouareg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Great location. (we love the middle of the island) Beach access is very easy. (Public area is very nice plus there is a easy private entrance next to the Sea Crest. Rooms are big, clean. Everything you need for a fun week. Parking enclosed. Resort area is big and clean plus groomed very well. No rift raft. Love HH. sixth time to stay. Second at Waterside. We stayed in the 5600 building which is the best for families. It is the closest to the big pool plus it has the kiddie pool adjacent to it. Out your door, down the elevator and 20 yards to the pool. (NICE) They have neat activities. Everyone is very nice. The gold package is a great deal also. Saves you about 50-75 dollars per person per day per round. I would highly recommended this resort for families. It is a timeshare resort. Just tell them no thank you and unplug the phone. Thats all we always do. Or take the time and get a free gift.

Room Tip: Specials are on their website for non owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReviewsYOUcanTrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.7 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
11 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
871 reviews
2.2 km away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Bluewater Resort and Marina
Bluewater Resort and Marina
#10 of 52 in Hilton Head
139 reviews
1.5 km away
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Marriott's Grande Ocean
#5 of 28 in Hilton Head
839 reviews
3.4 km away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Address: 45 Waterside Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4735
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: ₹ 7,925 - ₹ 13,723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfill your leisure desires and access all island activities from the preserved setting of this vacation resort just two blocks from the beach. Walk to the beach or hop on the seasonal shuttle. Dry off long enough to enjoy golf, tennis and proximity to beach restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside By Spinnaker Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing