We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What a beautiful and restful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansfield Plantation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mansfield Plantation
Ranked #1 of 3 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
218 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“What a beautiful and restful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We just spent one night in this B and B that is located on the Black River a few miles outside of Georgetown. We like to go places for photography and this is a jewel. Sunrise was spectacular over the river which is a few hundred feet from our building. There are three of the original buildings on the property used for guests and the main house for breakfast. If you want to experience what life on a rice plantation was in the 1800's in the south, this will do it. While we did take some photos, we mainly enjoyed sitting under all the beautiful oaks enjoying the breeze and setting. As others reported the breakfast was delicious. We will return!!

Room Tip: Two rooms have king beds so if that is important check out your selection. The website is very helpf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    13
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
90
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We really enjoyed ourselves on our quick weekend work free. Kathryn is an outstanding cook and wonderful host. We loved relaxing on the hammock even with the tour going on. The bikes are fun to take out and the grounds are beautiful. I would love to go back. Feel so good and a true adventure for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iowagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Put this on your 'Must Stay' list. The house and rooms are perfect, the grounds are amazing, and the Inn Keep was terrific - what more do you need? How about a group of new friends sharing laughs (and wine) around the fire pit! I'm ready to go back!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Land_Locked_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Mansfield. Very picturesque, private and quiet, and appealing to those who are seeking a quiet retreat with historical significance but who also want to sight-see and experience livelier local culture. Within easy driving distance of historic Georgetown proper (which is a great town to explore) and within decent driving distance (20 minutes or so) of Litchfield and Pawley’s Island beaches, restaurants, more touristy things, etc. A good deal to explore on the plantation itself (1.5 mile driveway is a nice wooded walk, older historical out-buildings – the slave chapel has been beautifully restored- man-made dyke around the back of the property which you can explore on foot or by bicycle), and Kathryn, the innkeeper, is a good source of knowledge about the plantation and the local area. One tiny inconvenience: the mosquitoes were plentiful and vicious during my stay, so if you are the type who attracts these little blighters, make sure you bring the extra strength bug repellent or you may not be able to enjoy your walks around the plantation.

Speaking of Kathryn – she is a wonderful hostess and very attentive to her guests’ needs without being intrusive. She prepared AMAZING breakfasts – very creative, delicious and generous portions, and will keep you going all morning and beyond. Be warned, however – if you are the type that wants to grab a bite and head off very early the morning to see local sites, you’ll have to forgo breakfast, as it is a sit-down affair served at the same time every morning (9 a.m.) in the plantation’s formal dining room. I am usually the get-up-and-go type, but found that I actually enjoyed having to follow a more leisurely pace. And I would not recommend skipping this breakfast.

Room was great – stayed in the Simons room in the Old Kitchen. Beautifully decorated, well-equipped and comfortable. Small coffee pot for a pre-breakfast cuppa, and small refrigerator and microwave, which allowed me to keep left-overs from my forays out to good restaurants. Rooms open directly onto the grounds, so you may occasionally have a spider/bug the room and may be greeted by small frogs, lizards, etc. in your screen door. I wasn’t bothered by that at all, but others might be. Made good use of the hammock that was right outside my room. Cell phone/Internet reception is very spotty, but you shouldn’t need these, as you’re on vacation, right?

Hope you enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizziemuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

This was a beautiful place. Our room was very nice too with plenty of privacy. Something we did not see on any of the reviews before we went is that there is a paper mill or some other kind of smelly factory nearby and parts of the day the area had quite a strong odor. The breakfast was yummy, but you are forced to eat at the same time and at one big table with all the other guests. The innkeeper one morning made us all introduce ourselves and say why we were there that weekend. I know some people really like this, but for a romantic weekend getaway, it is not my style. I prefer the B&Bs that have small tables spread out in dining room and let you come in over a couple hours versus making you come to breakfast at a specific time (or serve you in your room). Like I said, this is my preference, and this review may be helpful to people with tastes opposite from mine.

My last note is to be careful walking around the grounds as they have several dogs running around leaving little surprises throughout the yard (one of which my shoe managed to find very well).

Room Tip: All the rooms seem a bit different, so look around on the website at the pictures for what you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coastergirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
6.6 km away
Hampton Inn Georgetown - Marina
6.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Georgetown/Near Georgetown Marina
17.2 km away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Georgetown
17.9 km away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
12.2 km away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansfield Plantation? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansfield Plantation

Property: Mansfield Plantation
Address: 1776 Mansfield Rd, Georgetown, SC 29440-6923
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,062 - ₹ 13,416
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansfield Plantation (ca. 1718) is a well-preserved, antebellum rice plantation on the banks of the Black River in Georgetown, South Carolina. Today, Mansfield still retains the old world charm and elegance of a bygone era. With over 1,000 acres of property, Mansfield Plantation offers guests the unique opportunity to step back in time and experience life on a Southern Plantation.A gourmet breakfast buffet is served each morning in the main house, with offerings such as stuffed French toast, poached pears, and Kathryn's always-changing egg bake. Mansfield is sensitive to guests food allergies and preferences, so just ask!The plantation has three surrounding properties with unique guests suites in each. The North Guest House has four private suites, while the School House has two guest rooms. The Old Kitchen House has two lower-level suites and one upstairs suite. All nine guests suites have a private entrance, private bathroom, as well as many amenities from a modern hotel (satellite TV, coffee maker, mini fridge, etc.)Rent a room and stay for the weekend, or rent the entire plantation grounds! And look for Mansfield in "The Patriot", which was filmed on-location at Mansfield.As seen in Garden & Gun, Charleston Magazine, South Carolina Homes & Gardens, on CNN, and more! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing