We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooooo relaxing and beautiful!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fripp Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fripp Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fripp Island
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We stayed in one of the Sun Suite efficiencies that face the beach and had an amazing time! We were there 3 nights in mid September and the place was practically deserted. The island is immaculate: completely private, full of deer walking around, gorgeous houses, everyone drives golf carts or bikes. Do NOT come here if you're looking to party. There is one restaurant on the island and it closes early :) Great place to relax, fish, walk on the beach, kayak/raft, bike, and sleep in late.

My husband keeps begging me to book another stay or, better yet, move there!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
3  Thank vtbrooklyn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2010

So, I read all the reviews and ended up renting a Villa ( from a private owner) right on the beach ( Captain John Fripp Villas) next to the Beach Club. The island is lovely, with lots of areas for privacy ( even on the week including the 4th of July). We cooked all our meals in the villa and beyond that the biggest decisions we had to make each day was whether we wanted to lounge at one of the pools or on the beach. When we were not doing one of the above, we were riding around the island in a golf looking for deer or riding bikes on the many bike paths. I agree with others who say that the amenities on the island could be updated ( pools for example) but they were very clean.. just older. Sometimes less is more and in the case of Fripp that was definitely the case. If you are looking for quiet laid back family time this is the place for you. If you are looking for a place with arcades, water parks, and lots of dining options then you really should head to Savannah, Hilton Head or Mertyl ( spelling) Beach. We will be going back next year as we have a one year old and it was perfect for him.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rbarnwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Do not rent through Fripp Island Resort. They are a major rip off. You can save tons of money by renting houses through private owners, which there are several websites available including homeaway.com and others. Fripp Island Resort charges a 3% NON REFUNDABLE "damage fee" as well as a 7% "Island Fee". They tack on fees to everything, and the rental units are more expensive and without golf carts. A lot of private rentals include a golf cart in the package.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank LLNC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Staying at a house on the canal that runs through the center of Fripp Island called Lunaseay. The house is great, center island with easy access to Bonito boathouse and marina, and the beach club.
The marina was helpful getting our boat (17' Sea Ray) in the water and giving directions for a difficult trip through the marshes to get to the canal. Boating from a house on the canal is ruled by the tides. Coming and going from the canal must be within 1-2 hours of high tide, which can be pretty limiting. Might we worth the money to dock the boat in a wet slip at the marina if you want to go out on the water any time. If you want easy access to your boat, and don't mind your boat sitting on the ground when tide goes out, then canal front homes may work for you. It varies from home to home, but you should ask.
Some of the houses for rent say that the resort pools are heated, and that there are hot tubs. Not true. None of the pools at the cabana club or the beach club are heated. At the end of March 2010 they are C-O-L-D! So, if you are planning to come and swim in the pools for spring break, be prepared for the chilly temperature of the water.
Most of the restaurants on the resort are not running on weekdays at this time, including the sand bar, the beach club, and wet willies.

We like it better than Hilton Head because we like being away from it all in a nice house. But if you are planning to use aminity cards to enjoy the resort amenities, better hold out until the summertime.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sodstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Had a wonderful time. The wildlife (deer walk right past you and you can see the alligators!), bikes, pools, beautiful beach...it was so much fun with the golfcarts, watching dolphins at the marina, the Veranda beach area and pool were so much fun for my kids - they love and it feels so comfortable. So many different things to do in on the island. All the great fun stuff but yet no commercial crap. Everyone we met comes back year after year (generation after generation). We will come back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kimkeeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fripp Island
12.9 km away
Quality Inn St. Helena
Quality Inn St. Helena
#1 of 1 in Saint Helena Island
99 reviews
32.3 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
22.2 km away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
966 reviews
22.6 km away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
28.7 km away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fripp Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fripp Island Resort

Address: 300 Tarpon Blvd., Fripp Island, SC 29920-7427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Fripp Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fripp Island
Price Range: ₹ 4,233 - ₹ 37,773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check out our fantastic vacation rentals which range from oceanfront homes to villas, golf cottages and efficiencies. Whatever you need for your vacation, we surely have a rental to match. Additionally when you book directly through the Fripp Island Golf & Beach Resort, you get all the benefits of a private resort club: our exclusive "no hassle check-in", free guest cards, and fully furnished accommodations. Welcome to your home away from home! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fripp Island Hotel Fripp Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing