We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taco Boy

Taco Boy
Ranked #3 of 35 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Long wait to be seated, noisy inside. 2 places to sit outside (front porch and back patio) and plenty of seating inside, and full bar. Several unusual choices of food, and a few vegetarian items listed on the menu. The salsa is a good choice. The tacos are small for about $4 each but almost gourmet. Staff is mostly friendly. I did get squirted on the back of my arm when the table beside us was being cleaned, that was kind of gross. It is a clean place. Good food, fun place to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tnwldflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    316
    115
    35
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

loved the atmosphere; creative taco choices; great Mahi Mahi

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Yummy margaritas can't make an entire experience...can they? Well, maybe sometimes, but the food at Taco Boy just doesn't cut it for this Mexican loving lady. Fun atmosphere and delicious drinks, but the food definitely leaves something to be desired. I'm sure I'll be back to this spot regardless!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beach-fun fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

After a morning on the beach, Taco Boy lunch was fully satisfying. As carb-less eaters Mexican food is always easy to modify and still get the full effect of the meal. Taco Boy has a good deal of variety, so my companions and I just made it a big hodge podge of food. Queso, Guac, tacos.. nothing to complain about
A wide and wonderful range of tequila to choose from also. Bonus.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulaski, Va.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Go for the funky atmosphere, but enjoy the whole thing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I suggest you visit the Taco Boy early. The Saturday wait was an hour, and Tuesday was 30 minutes. I have eaten there several times, and the food is good but not spectacular. I simply like the whole funky, freaky, and upbeat atmosphere. If you sit outside, you have a great view of Folly's unending parade of vacationers, tourists, teenagers, surfers, locals, bikers, police, drunks, parents, etc. The art and decor are splendid.
On our last visit, we had an odd waitress who would not make eye contact, but we still had a good time at this hip place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeePulaski_Va_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taco Boy also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Taco Boy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing