We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience and the room rate was too high”
Review of Tides Folly Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tides Folly Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Port Barrington, IL.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a good experience and the room rate was too high”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The hotel room was too expensive based on the quality of the room. The room charge was $183 dollars a night for a Sun-Thurs. stay and it would have been more for a Fri-Sun. stay. I can only assume the unreasonable room rate was based on the great ocean view and based on the fact that was this was the only hotel on the beach. I was very annoyed to learn that breakfast was not included and it was an additional $10 dollar charge to have a microwave in the room. The only breakfast option on the hotel grounds of the hotel was a breakfast buffet for $11.95 per adult.

The beds and pillows were very lumpy and uncomfortable. The air conditioner was too loud to hear for the TV without turning it up and really too loud for someone who was a light sleeper. Also, during the night, my wife experienced what appeared to be insect bites on her arms, chest and feet. Not sure what caused, but dogs are allowed at this hotel and who knows it could have been fleas. The balconies are not full-sized balconies, only big enough to stand on them, but not big enough to sit in a comfortable chair. Also, all balconies are ocean-front rooms as they say, but some rooms have obstructed views to the left of the beach because of the side hotel wall that extends out. I know this because at first I was put in one of these rooms, but then moved to a room without the wall after complaining.

The service was good at the front desk. My only negative experience with the service was when one of the maids who seemed annoyed when asked for additional towels and when the same maid did not clean our room after agreeing she let us shower/clean up before doing so.

The pool, lobby and outside Tiki bar was very nice, but the pool deck did not include a hot tub and the pool did not feel heated as advertised on their website and brochure.

Overall, the room rate was really too high for the quality of the room and based on the overall experience. If the hotel had included breakfast and the microwave in the price the stay would have been more tolerable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
At Tides, it is our goal to provide a product, service and value that far exceeds the monetary significance paid by our guests, regardless of what that may be. We regret, in this case, that we failed to live up to that standard and hope to regain the trust and business of this reviewer in the future. For the difficulties the author of this review experienced with sleep comfort, we sincerely apologize. Our beds are only a year old and the vast majority of the comments we receive are extremely complimentary. We apologize for any misrepresentation that our pool deck included a hot tub. We’ve never offered a Jacuzzi but the pool is heated to 90 degrees all year long. I encourage the author of this review to contact us directly so we may work together to make your next stay one of fond memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    426
    201
    91
    60
See reviews for
485
525
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We found the staff very friendly and eager to please. Our room for our 3 night stay was clean and well maintained. The drive into historic Charleston is about 20 minutes on a weekday. We found our stay at Tides to be a good combination of reading by the pool, walking on the beach and seeing the sights in the area.

The shops and restaurants adjacent to the hotel have a Key West feel and uniformly delicious food with friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
What a great endorsement of Tides Hotel and the town of Folly Beach! Thank you for sharing this and for publicly complimenting our team. It sounds like y’all had a great time and we look forward to our next opportunity to serve you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great view.Was on 7 th floor.Good food at the BLU restaurant.Mostly a scene for 20 year old's but plenty of families also.It is about 20-30 minutes from downtown Charleston so you probably need a car to go around.
Room with 2 queen beds.Very basic bathroom.Small pool with lot of kids.
Problem: People smoking in their balconies and smoke coming in your room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harbrinder2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you for being our guest at Tides Folly Beach and for taking a moment to share your experience with everyone. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your view as well as your experience at Blu Restaurant!

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced with smoke from other guest balconies. While all our rooms are non-smoking, we are aware that some people will step out onto their balconies to smoke. We do ask that all guests be mindful of their neighbors and smoke in designated areas only so everyone may enjoy the wonderful ocean views with or without their balcony doors open.

Thank you, again for choosing to stay with us and we hope we have the opportunity to serve you on future vacations to the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My wife and I stayed there during a Monday and Tuesday night. Monday is far busier in Folly Beach, but the hotel didn't feel that crowded. The staff was intentionally friendly as if the organization makes this a priority. The place is right on the beach as well. There is a nice, small pool that was sometimes full of kids, but it was ideally placed. We were in walking distance of several good restaurants. We didn't use our car the whole time. Just a wonderful place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank objectiveopine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you for contributing this great review of Tides here on Tripadvisor! We appreciated having you and your wife as our guests on your recent getaway and are thankful of your compliments to our staff. We can’t wait until your next trip and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We used to go to the then "Charleston on the Beach" and so when the chance arose to spend an extra day in the area we said, why not. Although the old hotel was not so great this reincarnation missed us by a generation.
So if you are in to wild music and dirt restored beach and decorating from heaven knows were this is your place. Otherwise go to Sullivan Island for the Beach and find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: As far away from noise as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoga2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you for paying a visit to Tides Folly Beach after all these years! We certainly have undergone a lot of changes since you knew us as “Charleston on the Beach.” We are proud to have a much more vibrant, energetic and modern feel throughout the entire hotel; from the common areas to all the guest rooms. The experience you will receive here is as unique as ever! Maybe it’s your thing, maybe it’s not but you’ll never know until you experience it first-hand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
15.4 km away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
20.3 km away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
433 reviews
14.3 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
20.2 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#3 of 5 in Isle of Palms
207 reviews
0.2 km away
Holliday inn Folly Beach
Holliday inn Folly Beach
#4 of 4 in Folly Beach
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Folly Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Folly Beach

Property: Tides Folly Beach
Address: 1 Center Street, PO Box 68, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,016 - ₹ 26,421
Hotel Class:3 star — Tides Folly Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nine miles from historic downtown Charleston, Tides Folly Beach is located along one of south's most beautiful beaches, offering breathtaking views and a laid back vibe. Tides is the ideal destination for your next Charleston beach vacation, wedding or get-together with friends, family or business associates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tides Folly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Folly Beach Hotel Folly Beach
Holiday Inn Folly Beach
Folly Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing