We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Place To Pets And Owners”
Review of Thunderbird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 6 September 2008

This is a VERY, PET FRIENDLY PLACE. Since you are ONLY staying overnite to continue on the next day, it was truly a nice experience. NO COMPLAINTS about the dogs...Room was clean. TV worked great. And since we were not familiar with the area, didn't want to go out and EXPLORE, so we ate in their Restuarant. Unbelievably good food!!! Home cooking. Truly.
Enjoyed everything. And when "locals" eat there, you know it has to be good. Got up the next day early, had breakfast in their resturant, which was very good, and off we went.
Anyone that BADMOUTHS this place...then go and pay a few hundred $$$ a nite. You're right next to the Interestate. What else do you want? And, if you travel with pets, OUTSTANDING.
Ya know...some people wouldn't be happy...even with a free lunch. They would COMPLAIN about SOMETHING at the lunch.
A decent price for a quick stay overnite, and the food was good enough to go back for seconds.
If the HIGH AND MIGHTY that constantly complains, go sleep in your car.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IzziLoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2007

My great grandparents used to stay here while on their way down to Florida from New Jersey, this was back in the 70's/80's. Ever since I started taking the trip to Florida back in 2000 I decided to continue the tradition. Every year since then (except for 2003 when it had be booked for the night) I've stayed at this hotel. It may not be the newest, cleanest hotel in the area but it has history which is important to me. They've got an outstanding breakfest buffet that I always look forward to. It's complete with all the southern specialties and fixin's that will be sure to fill you up right and best of all, it's free with your stay! They've got a nice tropical courtyard that surrounds the pool in the center that gives me a tropical feel everytime I'm there. They also have a lounge with sometimes live entertainment which may be a selling point to some. This motel seems to be very popular with golfers and always seems to have a full parking lot so although some reviews may not be the best, I'm definitely not the only one that loves this place. If you're looking for a state of the art, modern, spotless hotel this place isn't for you. Now if you want something with a local feel and a true road side stop - then this place is a must!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank s_b_man18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2006

If you are driving The Beast (AKA I-95) Florence is a good place to stop for the night. After staying at another hotel at this same exit over the years, thought we'd give the Thunderbird Inn a shot because of the enticing offer of a free breakfast buffet. And shoot it we should have... right across the highway to the old tried and true standby Motel 6!
The sign should have told us something since half the letters are burned out. When we pulled up to the entrance way, the sheriff's car (including a criminal of some sort locked up in the back) should have been a bigger sign to fly right out of there. I would have, but SO wanted to press ahead. (He had his eagle eye set on filling his gullet in the morning with that free buffet.)
The ground floor room had seen better days, which were probably back in the 60's. However, the avian theme was consistent - bird poop colored carpet, splattered paint job on the walls, droppings/stains (God only knows of what) on the furniture and a blanket that could have been used to file down a falcon's talons it was so rough. The bathroom floor had been so sloppily cleaned it still had a puddle of water. Two feather-light towels were about as big as a gull's wingspan.
Since there were so few customers (another sign we should have paid attention to) I must say it was a quiet night. The long-anticipated buffet was nothing to write home about. The servers were extremely friendly & pleasant, but the food was average at best. They do charge extra if you want milk or juice, which is a ridiculous concept - guess if you've got kids you are stuck paying for their drinks. Bottom line: Go to the Motel 6. They take pets, too and the place is far and away better than the T-Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoTravelersToG... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2006

This motel is rated 2 satrs by AAA. That is about right. Basic, 1960's style, although it has a decent pool in the courtyard. Right under the interstate so the side that faces it has loud traffic noise. If that is an issue request a different locaton. Could have been cleaner, but it was passable. Our $47.00 rate came with a full hot all you could eat breakfast buffet which made it a good deal. Attendant on line cooking eggs to each persons liking. Several meats, pancakes, fruit. It was a one night layover stop for us which was OK, if planning anything longer consider another place.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Alexandria, Virginia
11
Reviewed 22 July 2005

The Thunderbird Inn is a half-way point for us, driving from Alexandria, VA, and the experience was great. For the room rate, we took our small dog, enjoyed the big, clean pool, and the country buffet was yummy! I highly recommend it, and will stop there again in the future.

Stayed: July 2005
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
0.3 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
0.2 km away
Econo Lodge Florence
Econo Lodge Florence
#27 of 41 in Florence
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence
5.6 km away
Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center
0.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Inn

Address: 2004 W Lucas St, Florence, SC 29501-1203
Region: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: ₹ 4,230 - ₹ 4,486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing