We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wilkinson's Landing - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Kayaking Trip to Shell Island

Great kayaking trip to Shell Island. Awesome trip via Wilkinson's Landing inlet. Mike was great and... read more

Reviewed 12 September 2017
Polymorphism
,
NC
Edislow trip!

Taking a trip to Shell Island...this is the way to do it. Easygoing boat ride to the island at low... read more

Reviewed 19 July 2017
Brent H
via mobile
Read all 92 reviews
  
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
85
5
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
5
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain mike whelks sand dollars small cooler excellent trip boat ride to shell island low tide oyster beds whole family shell collecting fiddler crabs bug spray kayak shells birds inlet sunscreen
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Great kayaking trip to Shell Island. Awesome trip via Wilkinson's Landing inlet. Mike was great and had our kayaks ready when we arrived. The whole family had a great time.

1  Thank Polymorphism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Taking a trip to Shell Island...this is the way to do it. Easygoing boat ride to the island at low tide and came back as the tide rolled in. Great fun for everyone. Will do it again!

Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Called Mike last minute and he was available, even waited for us although we came late. He took us to Shell island which was fantastic! We collected a great bunch of shells. Mike was very friendly and very informative. Excellent trip, fantastic captain, Thanks again Mike ! highly recommend!

4  Thank layla23402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Decided last minute to go to shell island. Found Wilkenson's Landing on the internet with good reviews. Sent an email to his website to inquire about availability. Captain Mike responded within 30 minutes. We were running late so I called him. He waited for us no problems. The trip was great. My wife loves shell collecting and was smiling ear to ear. Captain Mike was very friendly and answered every question we had. He helped make the trip GREAT! The only reason I gave him a 5 rating is I couldn't go any higher!

2  Thank 908gregv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

My husband and I took a boat ride to Shell Island. Bring a towel, hat, sunscreen, BUG SPRAY, small cooler with drinks, and a bag for shells. Be sure to wear sandals with straps, some areas can be slippery.
We found awesome whelk shells and some conchs. Several people found sand dollars. We saw hermit and fiddler crabs and other live critters. Got great photos of pelicans and other birds.
Capt Mike gave us great info on dolphins we saw and how oyster beds are created. Cost was $²5 each. Well worth the money!

4  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Quick trip by boat to island full of shells. Spend 2 hrs. out there. If you have a chair bring it with you since there's nowhere to sit. Also wear sunscreen, you'll be in full sun! Found some really nice shells. It was a fun activity and an inexpensive way to spend a couple hours.

1  Thank sputnik904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Captain Mike was so gracious and took us out to Shell Island as it's often called. He also let our grandsons drive his boat to their delight. The shells were so numerous and we were allowed to take home about a gallon each. Just a little bit of Heaven on Earth!
Stayed on the Island for about 2 hours swimming walking and shelling. Can take your chair, ice chest, etc. Found many conch/whelk shells, but ended up tossing some back because they still had the critters in them. Fun Day!

1  Thank crysal o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

This place (Shell Island) is perfect for those who don't like to be in a crowd. The shell selection is out of this world! We are definitely going back. And the boat captain was very friendly and knowledgeable about the wildlife on the short trip to the island. Highly recommended for those with little beach lovers!

Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

Cool short boat ride, and great little visit to the island. Tons of shells, of all different types. Kids loved just sloshing around and looking for things. No sharks teeth for us, but still some great finds!

Thank McBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Went to shell island with captain Michael and our kids, 3 and 5. Everyone had a great time. They found lots of "treasures" to take home. Got dropped off for a couple hours and had a great walk and picnic on the beach that we brought. Kids loves the boat ride as well. Recommended for a couple hour adventure with the kids!

Thank Charleston_JDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews