We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great little musuem

Enjoyed learning more about the area here in Edisto Beach. The exhibit talks about the European... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
barbarabL5532ZB
,
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Packed a punch in this Museum

When you visit Edisto Island, this lil Museum needs to be on your "must do" list. VERY impressed... read more

Reviewed 15 January 2019
Jon S
,
Gray, Georgia
via mobile
Read all 89 reviews
  
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
48
35
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
35
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local history scavenger hunt civil war gift shop plantation life children's section excellent collection slaves books exhibits information documentation curator buffs jewelry era organisation
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

I thought the museum offered a nice range of exhibits. There were definitely exhibits from the local area, plantations from Edisto Island, and other cultural and historical items. The fee was well worth it.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank robertwT5498MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our visit here. The ladies working the museum were very nice and informative. We enjoyed the scavenger hunts. The diorama was amazing. Enjoyed seeing the slave house - all very informative. So glad to see historical items retained and displayed. Our past is so important because it molds our future. Good visit. Recommend to all.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank LNorris9919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Plenty of great Edisto history. I would recommend stopping in when you're on the island.
We especially liked the original slave shack, its twin is in the Smithsonian.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Rick1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Nice gift shop. Enough artifacts, photos, etc. relating to the founding families of Edisto to explain how the area was tamed and turned into a major cotton producing area. One room contains items related to the Civil War, another to the thousands of slaves who worked the land and made their masters wealthy.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank erdsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Very friendly and small well done museum. It even has an authentic room of a slave cabin. One room out of two shows just how much space they had to live in. The history of the island and cotton industry was educational. The display of the importance and interaction during the Civil War was more than expected. The gift shop was full of literature and some local art, cookbooks and jewelry items. It also had a children's section of books and other fun things. Nice way to spend a couple of hours and learn about the island.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank BSDWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews