We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
7
10
17
10
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
10
17
10
27
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2017

Visited Columbia to see the eclipse (it was great-USC did a great job). Booked this hotel in June in anticipation. Was given a price of $99 per night. In July, reviewed the reservation and discovered that we had inadvertently booked a smoking room. Called the hotel and was informed that they would be happy to correct that but we would have to pay the current room rate which had increased to $300 per night. Since this was our fault (who knew smoking rooms still existed?) and all other hotels were full, we agreed. We arrived at the hotel and were provided a room. To say it was disgusting was an understatement. The sheets were stained, the carpet was "moist", the bathroom was moldy, there were holes in the walls and the whole room smelled like sewage. We complained and were provided a new room which, while still filthy, didn't smell like sewage--instead it smelled like a smoking room. We complained again, were told that there were no other rooms available and that sometimes people smoked in the rooms even though they weren't supposed to. We indicated we were paying a premium for non-smoking room. Were basically told too bad. We checked other hotels in the area and nothing was available. In addition to the smoking, the replacement room was in serious need of cleaning, repairs and updating. Two highlights included an apparent repair to the floor under the carpet which resulted in a soft spot where the floor dipped right outside the bathroom. My daughter fell the first time she walked on it. The other was the hairdryer. It feel off the wall, exposing bare wiring when my wife tried to use it.

Upon check-out, we tried to get some compensation but were told the manager needed to approve it and he was not available for several hours (I believe he was hiding in his office) so we ended up paying and leaving.

Upon arriving home, we called Choice Hotel customer service and were informed that each hotel is individually owned and the owner could provide compensation at their discretion.

Overall, it was a horrible experience and I'd be reluctant to stay at a choice property in the future. I'm fascinated by a business that would allow its name to be put on such a poorly maintained property and have customer service model that is unable to provide any meaningful customer service.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The property was situated between a two and a three in. The pool functioned and was in decent shape. Carpets probably need to be replaced or at the very least cleaned (in the room). The lobby area was clean and well kept. There were issues twice with the a/c not working properly and as these were days in the 90's at the location, that was not a good thing. Had to call the "service guy" to get it back working on two occasions after growing tired of the dire temps in the room. The water for the shower was a good pressure and got hot with no problems. There was a slight upgrade from the basic continental breakfast with eggs (imitation I think) and a waffle iron for making waffles. There was actually gravy for the breakfast that was prepared also. The service was between a three and four - staff was generally friendly. It is right off the interstate 26. Less than 5 miles away is a rather large shopping area with a few restaurants (Walmart, Sam's club, Best Buy, Target, etc.). There are a few other hotels in this general vicinity I'd recommend trying, however.

Room Tip: Any time there is a general feeling of not wanting to walk on the carpet without socks - not good.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

The room was clean. When we got up this morning to take a shower we could not get the shower or water to turn on so therefore had to wipe off so we could get on the road. When we told the front desk about it she said we should have called. We may should have called but we would have had to get dressed and wait on someone to fix or change rooms and we were ready to get back on the road. The commodes and sink was very low to the floor. I taught primary school for years and they were about the size you find in the Kindergarten hall. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. No discount was offered for our inconvenience.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Eliza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

First room looked like door was kicked in as there was an inch of play in door when closed. Rusty refrigerator. No internet. Bathroom door sticks and is difficult to open.
Second room telephone had all loose components inside. They replaced phone but still didn't work. Replaced wiring to wall but no luck. No internet. Third room no internet.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

There was nothing pleasant about this stay. The room was disgusting just look at the photos. Breakfast was so gross it went right into the trash. If that were not enough aggravation our car was broken into overnight.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cape_May_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews