We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay but no plans to return” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn At Claussen's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn At Claussen's
Ranked #27 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Smoky Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
342 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Okay but no plans to return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Inn. It was beautiful on the outside and unique on the inside. The parking was not idea. They had 3 spaces out front. The rest of the parking was behind the hotel and not in a good area. They had cameras up and signs posted saying the Inn wasn't responsable for break ins. On Sunday, a vehicle 5 spaces down from our had been broken into. They had busted out the passenger side glass of the vehicle. We spoke with one of the owners and she said they went though everyting in their vehicle.

Also, there are train tracks that run right beside the hotel and several trains pass throughout the day and night. At least 3 trains pass between the hours of 10 pm-6am.

We booked through a Gropon Deal that included a Welcome "basket" of water, snacks and logo coffee mugs. Well, we didn't get a "basket" just a bottle of water for each of us per day and a bag of chips for each of us per day. Also, they advertised a wine and cheese reception each evening. We don't drink and on Friday they did offer lemmonade with the cheese. On Saturday, nothing was offered.

As far as the breakfast goes, you had a choice of what you could order and when you wanted it to be delivered. We ordered a yogurt parfit with granola, a blueberry muffin with mixed berries and fresh fruit each day. Well, our yogurt just had a couple of berries in the top of it....no granola. We got the blueberry muffin....no mixed berries and we never got our fresh fruit. When I was checking out on Sunday, the gentlemen in front of me said he got stuff he didn't order and stuff he did order was missing. The clerk told him that they were out of granola, bagels and fresh fruit. So, I guess that explains why we didn't get it either.

While it was a unqiue place and we like some things about it I dont' think we'll ever go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krr1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    60
    34
    15
    8
See reviews for
55
83
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I loved everything about this hotel ! It was impeccably clean, the atmosphere was calming and inviting, the service and staff were so outstanding and friendly they didn't make me feel obligated to tip just because it's customary they actually earned and deserved to be tipped! The location is great too! There is so much to do just in this area alone you can travel on foot and leave your car in it's parking space. The Inn at Claussen's is the BEST VALUE in my opinion in the Columbia area and the rates are MORE THAN REASONABLE for a hotel of this class!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaramelKinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Enjoyed a night here with the family recently. Got a Groupon package that included Zoo passes and one night accommodations with room service breakfast.

Having never been to the Five Points area, this was a great place to start and explore.

Employess were all nice and friendly. Service was good. Room was clean overall but bathroom needed an update (some mold in shower, etc). Beds comfortable.

Breakfast was very tasty and a treat to have delivered but was lateer than the time requested. Family was getting hungry so I had to hunt down the food. ;)

Overall a nice place would return

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AF_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
248 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Our room was quite large and very clean. This is not that standard run of mill chain hotel. The desk staff was very helpful. Breakfast is delivered to your room. A complementary glass of wine is a nice touch, and the lobby was a nice place to enjoy it.

There is a railroad track right next door, but almost all of the rooms are on the opposite side of the hotel (I only remember one on the same side as the tracks).

Being a Friday night, the bars along the street were over-packed, but we couldn't hear any of the noise inside our room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ModerationForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We spent one night at The Inn at Claussen's and were extremely please with everything. The inn had originally been a bakery and still retained just enough of it's heritage and character after being converted to a contemporary boutique hotel.

We stayed in the bridal loft suite which was quite spacious with its living room and full bath downstairs and a spiral staircase up to the bedroom and half bath. The furnishings and decor were fashionable and tastefully done and the resulting look was breathtakingly romantic. The room and bath were impeccably clean.

Every staff member was friendly and eager to see that our needs were met and that we enjoyed our stay. We had complimentary wine and cheese before heading out for dinner at Garibaldi's Restaurant which was just a short stroll outside the door.

The next time we are in Columbia we absolutely will return. Loved it!!!

Room Tip: The Bridal Loft Suite was magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.6 km away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
1.7 km away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
2.0 km away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
1.5 km away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At Claussen's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At Claussen's

Property: The Inn At Claussen's
Address: 2003 Greene Street, Columbia, SC 29205-1638
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#15 Business Hotel in Columbia
#26 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,806 - ₹ 15,641
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn At Claussen's 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern Hospitality at it’s finest in the heart of Columbia, South Carolina. Listed on the National Historic Register, The Inn at Claussen’s blends historic grandeur, exquisite service and eco-friendly amenities in perfect proportion. Once home to Claussen’s Bakery we are now a 29 room Boutique Inn, just steps away from some of the best dining and shopping in South Carolina. Whether you’re taking a quick vacation or getting down to business, we have all the modern comforts to help you get away or stay connected. At The Inn at Claussen’s you can always expect your breakfast to be delivered to your room in the morning, a glass of wine in the evenings and gracious hospitality around the clock. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Claussen`s Hotel Columbia
Hotel At Claussens
At Claussens Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing