We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastically Delicious BBQ ”
Review of Midwood Smokehouse

Midwood Smokehouse
Ranked #14 of 1,081 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 15
Description: Midwood Smokehouse is where the neighborhood gets their barbecue fix. Our pitmasters burn hickory wood 24 hours a day, seven days a week to bring our customers the barbecue they crave. We set our standards high and cook our meats, low and slow. The vibe is friendly and the beer is cold. Pull up a seat, grab a plate and take it easy at Midwood Smokehouse.
Restaurant details
Description: Midwood Smokehouse is where the neighborhood gets their barbecue fix. Our pitmasters burn hickory wood 24 hours a day, seven days a week to bring our customers the barbecue they crave. We set our standards high and cook our meats, low and slow. The vibe is friendly and the beer is cold. Pull up a seat, grab a plate and take it easy at Midwood Smokehouse.
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

This is definitely worth the trip to Columbia. Start off with the bacon wrapped jalapeños. The Salmon is amazing for someone looking for something other than regular BBQ. With that being said the BBQ is 2 die 4. The brisket and ribs are the most delicious in the state of SC. For those looking to add spice ask for the habanero sauce. Betsy is a fabulous server. She is very knowledgeable and helpful with the menu and super nice. We will be back!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Was traveling up I77 and searched Trip Advisor for an off the beaten path meal. Reviews were good and menu looked awesome.
First impression, loud, dark and noisy. Second impression, scantly dressed women posters in men’s restroom - distasteful and UNNECESSARY!
Third impression, food was palatable but in no way unique, delicious or a reason to return.
The pulled pork was delicious but salty. The fries and hush puppies were a complete disappointment. The best part of the meal was the small side salad.
DISAPPOINTING!

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank tough1-2please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Well worth the short wait on a Friday night. Wait staff was on the ball and is truly invested in making your experience a good one. Starting with beer they have a great selection of local brews on draft and they are served cold and delicious. The food is the real star though. We had the pork burnt ends and the brisket. The ends were in a Cheerwine sauce that was sweet and really good. The brisket was incomparable. The finish was the bourbon selection. We sampled some of the best corn has to offer. All in all a place that is definitely worth the visit. Try the creamed corn as a side. It is not from a can. The hush puppies were as good as it gets. Really make an effort to get here.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank MarionsMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Went in for lunch and the place was packed! It took us a while to get our food, but once we did get it the food was hot. We had the choose 4 combo and it's enough for 2 people to share. We also enjoyed the wings. The hushpuppies are delicious.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 1goldenbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Ordered carry out. Was ready when they said. Didn't provide cutlery or napkins. Side salad and jalapeno sides were outstanding. Made the mistake of heeding another review and ordered burnt ends. While tasty, I got a center slice (there by not an end) that had very little bark....the entire reason it's called burnt ends. Sadly 1/2 the brisket was dry.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Stefanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Midwood Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Midwood Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing