We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
4
2
2
10
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
2
2
10
20
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Drove nearly 12 hours and purely exhausted so stopped at this nearest Motel 6 hoping to relax for the final leg of our trip the next day. So disgusted with our experience.
Room smelled of cigarette smoke; one towel for 2 guests; pubic hair in tub; dirty sink; no lid on toilet, sheets were questionably fresh/clean and door did not close completely, thus leaving a gap to the inside and outside. The area outside of room was filthy with trash, cigarette butts, and smelled of garbage. Even experienced a sleepless night worrying about the security of our car as we noticed some unsavory people hanging around.
COME ON CORPORATE, you obviously have had similar complaints which hasn't changed anything at this location. You've updated the rooms, as indicated in your TV ads, but keeping a healthy motel isn't happening!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Columbia West SC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Marty, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason, we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the odor in your guestroom. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the cigarette odor issue you describe. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Ok, I'm a realest.... you get what you pay for! It's cheap and simple. My room was cheap and simple. No extra amenities or added charges but I got a good night's sleep and that's all I needed. Front desk was professional and courteous at check in and the security monitored the area while I slept.
I did not expect Hilton's service at a Motel 6 but I was respected and secure. That's all I needed.

Room Tip: The inner side of the hotel is best. Facing the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDD843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

This place just scared the s*** out of us. There were people staked out in front of our room all night. The door barely locked to make it worse. It was dirty, the sheets were obviously not washed and there was hair in the tub. We drove 20 hours straight before we stopped here for the night, so I bit the bullet and used the shower anyway. The water was FREEZING. I work the front desk at a hotel at home. I never realized the standards of hotels could be so low. YUCK. Plus who the heck doesn't have free wifi???

Room Tip: No room is a good room.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bobbi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

My first Motel 6, would NEVER stay with them again! The external areas were covered in garbage (including actually in the pool, cigarette butts, etc.) and smelt of urine, especially in the stairwell and vending area! No hot water in our room! It wasn't properly cleaned either, found a spillage on the floor! There are better hotels, with better facilities (free wifi, fridge, microwave, coffee pot, clean and breakfast) for just a few dollars more, stay there.
Many of the staff are in a totally untenable position in this dump!
Air-con worked well in our room.

Room Tip: Go, literally, anywhere else
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maisief769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Columbia West SC, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Maisie, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are sorry for the inconvenience you describe in finding our location. Also, we apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard to our rates, check-in policy and the inconveniences you experienced. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

This motel had NO washcloths in the room there was 1 towel and 1 hand towel. The air conditioning didn't work at all. It was after 10 pm when we checked in and left at 5 am. We couldn't take the heat any longer. When we told the lady in the office she said she was sorry but there was nothing she could do about it. That's sad that they let customers leave knowing their going to get bad reviews. There was no Fridge, no microwave and no coffee pot in the room. Trust me this is the last time to stay in a Motel 6...

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank draygonsgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Columbia West SC, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know the conditions you experienced are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the expectations of amenities. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews