We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous French Dip”
Review of Thirsty Fellow

Thirsty Fellow
Ranked #12 of 1,065 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 15
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: Located by the University of South Carolina, we are a full service restaurant and bar open 7 days/week. Casual atmosphere, dining room and covered deck, close to USC athletic activities and concerts at the Colonial Life Arena and Koger Center.
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Came here w/ best buddy during our two night stay in Columbia for Masters.
Place is great. Roomy and airy ambience, background music not obtrusive, TVs perfectly spaced.
As for the food we had wings and shrimp dip apps. Now for the highlight:....... I haven't had French Dip in forever since most places overlook their beef. Not here. Medium rare with crusty bread and wonderful au-jus and horsey-sauce. The house chips and slaw were first rate. Nice beer selection....
This place was so great on night 1 we made beeline for there from Augusta on night 2.
Service (Alex and Kat) were terrific in attentiveness as was friendly hostesses in accommodation. Highest recommendation!!'

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank N9200BNpatrickf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry D, Owner at Thirsty Fellow, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thanks so much for your kind words! Come back when you're in town again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2017

Great food, very nice atmosphere! We did go on a very busy Saturday evening, so we expected to wait, but. . . The young ladies running the wait list were v-e-r-y slow at cleaning tables and getting people seated. There were 3 large tables empty, but not cleared and 2 small tables, while a bunch of us waited. The ladies were walking in circles and looking at the list they had instead of getting the tables cleared. Then when they got the tables cleared they still did not call anyone! It took another 12 minutes after the tables were cleared before calling names began. It was worth the wait but poor management. We saw some people leave because of the wait times quoted and it was unnecessary. These people need to study how Cracker Barrel turn tables over!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank map0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry D, Owner at Thirsty Fellow, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you for your review. I am sorry about our less than stellar performance on Saturday. I'll share your experience with our servers and managers. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Stopped here for Brunch. Had the waffles and a side of biscuits and gravy. The food was good and so was the service.

Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Went here before the WBB game. This was our first visit to this establishment. Really tasty food. Our group had the pizza, philly cheese steaks, and wings. All were very good. Nice size portions and prices are reasonable. They serve brunch on Sundays starting at 10. Great variety of beers and cocktails to choose from. Service was outstanding and our waitress was fantastic. Will be back to sample some of the other menu items in the near future.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank flnine300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry D, Owner at Thirsty Fellow, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Thanks for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We stopped in hoping to get a few drinks and a quick meal. Turned out that we waited an hour for a table and another hour for chicken fingers. Place had great food but service was awful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry D, Owner at Thirsty Fellow, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

With an hour wait to be seated you must have caught us on a very busy night. I hope you'll come back and try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thirsty Fellow also viewed

 

Been to Thirsty Fellow? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing