We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food post USC game!”
Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
Ranked #18 of 1,065 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Located in the bustling Vista section of Columbia. Nice clean restaurant with great food. I'd definitely come back. I had a very interesting take on the Shrimp and grits and it was delicious. My mate had a shrimp pasta dish that was a tad too black peppery but it was still good. Good sized shrimp came with both! Bar drinks were very reasonably priced....and this place serves their canned beers in a koozie! How awesome! Loved the New South Brewery White beer - don't ever stop carrying this.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JEB-Asheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Public Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Hello JEB-Asheville, thank you for visiting Pearlz Oyster Bar. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us after the USC game! Thanks for the great review, and we hope to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

We had a late lunch here so we didn't have to wait more than 10 minutes for a booth. Sadly, they just sold out of lobster rolls. The oysters and fried oyster tacos were really good.

Thank TravelingFool88005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Public Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Hello TravelingFool88005, thank you for visiting Pearlz Oyster Bar. We deeply apologize that we had ran out of lobster rolls while you were there, as it is one of our most popular menu items. However, that is no excuse, and we will be addressing this with our staff to make sure we have the proper amount prepped each day. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our oysters and oyster tacos! Thanks for the review, and we hope to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

90+ degrees on the sidewalk and cool as a cucumber inside.
Quick service by Ashley of cold drinks.
Calamari tender served with crunchy pickled red cabbage was most excellent.
Scallops $27 with brussel sprouts
Scallops caprese fresh mozzarella, heirloom tomatoes, basil balsamic reduction.
Money well spent. Food and service exceptional.

Thank Armina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Public Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Hello Armina, thank you for visiting Pearlz Oyster Bar. We are so pleased that you choose to cool down with us on a hot Columbia day. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your meal, and hope to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

very good oysters (fried and raw} and fried shrimp. Service was also good
however, my wife had what she said was the worst clam chowder ever!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Public Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Hello Jack, thank you for choosing Pearlz Oyster Bar. We are so glad that you enjoyed our fresh seafood and were taken greta care of by our staff! Thanks for your feedback, and we hope to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Nice atmosphere, though it was a bit noisy. A decent date-night place, but I guess our expectations were a bit higher. I had the grilled salmon with potatoes and asparagus. Salmon was perfect, potatoes were a little on the tough side, and the asparagus was meaty but not crisp at all. The wife had the pasta with muscles. The muscles were a little on the small side, so when she mentioned that to our server, unbeknownst to us, 6 additional muscles were brought out, so good on them. Overall I'd say we were happy with the visit, we just now what to expect next time we go. And FYI.....DEFINITELY stop at Kaminsky's for dessert right next door.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SCgolfer369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Public Relations Manager at Pearlz Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi NCgolfer369, thank you for visiting Pearlz Oyster Bar. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us! Thanks for the great review, and we hope to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing