We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson
Ranked #45 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Great place to stay,service was very courteous and helpful.The room was clean and excellent.I left some of my personal items behind and called the hotel.They were able to help and i got them back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adesquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    142
    95
    70
    38
See reviews for
238
99
53
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

I stayed at this location Thanksgiving night only. I got a great rate for 1 night after tapping into discounts. Had I paid more for the stay, I would have been miffed as it was not worth more. The check-in clerk was average in the area of Customer Service.

In just 1 year's time, the hotel is run down in many areas (e.g., the rooms, the elevator and sitting areas in the lobby). Cleanliness is a problem in some areas also. I can imagine that it was really nice during the grand opening, as you can see the potential to still be a nice hotel. When they say "Micro", they mean it when it comes to a room with a single bed as it's small. The fridge is "micro" too.

For those who are non-smokers, be aware that this hotel previously allowed smoking. They went smoke-free April 2011 but did not make necessary changes to rid of all smoke odors. My first two rooms tried were so smoky that I could not stay in them. The 3rd room given was a winner with not smelling smoky, but it was not the type of room booked for and not on the floor requested. It was also dirty in areas (see pics).

The 5 things I liked about the 3rd room was - WIFI worked fine, nice LCD TV, no smoke odor, larger sized room, a comfortable bed. I also thought it was neat that an iMac was in the lobby for use. However, given the problems with cleanliness in the rooms, I did not use it.

Other notable problems:
-Broken toilet seat in room
-Spots on bed skirts in room
-Spots on chaise by window in room (the chaise in 2 previous rooms had spots also)
-Spots on the 1 desk chair in room
-Rusted wall railing in room
-Room was not stocked with fresh toilet paper; two near-empty rolls were there instead
-Room telephone was very dirty
-Three body towels in the room were rolled and placed on the rack damp; they appeared to have been washed by the cleaning crew however
-Marred up elevator
-Run down lobby

I did not try the breakfast so I cannot comment on it. I do not plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
391 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

This hotel had everything in the room you would want and the designers did a good job utilizing the space into an attractive room. A single queen room, however, is very small for two adults. The continental breakfast included one hot food item: waffles to make. Bagels and muffins were prepackaged.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlynn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, FL
Level Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Clean affordable hotel with great staff. In town for a Carolina game, GO COCKS! and this was not fat from the stadium and close to shopping for my wife. Small but no more than you need. Free breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G8ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed at this property one night for family graduation. Very quiet location. Walmart and Chik Fil A very close. Took about 10 minutes to get to Fort Jackson. Rooms very new and modern. Small lobby but very friendly. Roger the manager was great. He will call you by your first name for the duration of your stay. He sat and talked with us and told us all about his family and careers of his children. Roger is a very good man. he cares about your stay, and loves to go out of his way to accomadate you. He allowed us to take a blanket from room with us to early mornng graduation due to cold temps, and then we returned it after check out time, he still allowed our soldiers to go back into the room and change and shower. Roger makes this place feel like home away from home. While I am no fan of Columbia (roads are terrible and confusing) Roger was great. Room smelled good, clean, and although a bit small was still roomy enough for us. 2 queen rooms are alot bigger than the king suites. Nice lobby to sit in and relax (bit small), but nice 60 inch flat screen to watch tv. Brekfast was a little weak, coffee, fresh waffles, and some pre-packaged muffins and rolls, OJ was bit watery. But witl all that said, it was still good. Parking was good, my career is law enforcement, with that said, this place was well lighted, secure entrances, and seemed to be in a safe area. I would stay here again. Give Microtel Inn (Fort jackson) a chance, I think you will be happy. No Pool, No hot tub, No kids activities or play park.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Airhawk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 km away
Candlewood Suites Columbia-Ft. Jackson
1.0 km away
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
#50 of 94 in Columbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
17.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
17.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson
Address: 7504 Garners Ferry Rd, Columbia, SC 29209-2628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Columbia
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,343 - ₹ 6,936
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Fort Jackson
Microtel Inn & Suites Fort Jackson Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing