We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Christmas Padgent

Get your tickets early if you want to see this incredible Christmas Production. There is a lot of... read more

Reviewed 11 April 2016
Rambler17
,
Columbia, South Carolina
Wonderful Music

While not the formal music of a "high church" service, the choir and congregational worship is just... read more

Reviewed 22 October 2015
Debra C
,
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Read all 21 reviews
  
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
13
5
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
5
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Was welcomed by member of congregation in sanctuary. Good message, but the worship band was way too loud the majority of the time.

Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Just went to the 29th annual spectacular last evening. A cast of over 400 put on a patriotic show that is good for all ages. Music, singing, video..... A tribute to America.

Two shows: 4:30 & 7:30. FREE, but advance tickets needed. Suggest you check their web site in mid June next year.

Thank Tarheel1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Get your tickets early if you want to see this incredible Christmas Production. There is a lot of seats, but this is very popular during the Christmas Season. A great place for Sunday Morning as well.

Thank Rambler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

While not the formal music of a "high church" service, the choir and congregational worship is just terrific on an every Sunday basis. Depending on your church background, the church size intimidates some people, but I promise the music quality minimizes any such discomfort.

Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Fine if you are into huge churches. The pastor is very good and it is televised each week. I feel like I am lost in a crowd there but they do many things for the public and people I know who belong love it. Parking is a painful experience.

Thank icatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015 via mobile

We were out of town on a youth group trip and decided to stop for service at this church on Sunday. The church is huge and beautiful! The service is very formal, we're not used to that. They have a big choir and 3 floors of seating. The service was good, the Pastor gave a great message. It was about 1.5 hours long with 2 baptisms and baby dedications. People seemed friendly.

I LOVE that they have a whole sign language section with an interpreter. It was neat to see that. I think more churches should offer that.

Tip: dress up. Everyone was in dresses and suits. Our church is way more casual, so we wore jeans and t-shirts and we were WAY under dreessed.

Thank Jtthjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2014 via mobile

Something South Carolina does right - Spectacular live Christmas Pageant! The entire Church congregation plays parts of this event and it is beyond AMAZING! Hallelujah! Christ has risen! Christ will come again! Hosanna in the highest! Amen! God Bless Everyone!

Thank Newberry11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2014

The First Baptist Church in downtown Columbia has evolved into a megachurch with a large congregation and televised services at al. You don’t need to be a worshipper, however, to appreciate its architectural and historic appeals. The National Register/National Historic Landmark building (original construction 1859) features an imposing Greek Revival façade that delights the eye. The church’s role in the onset of the Civil War also makes it a magnet for history buffs. As the streetside historical marker states, a convention that met here on December 17, 1860, voted unanimously for South Carolina to secede from the United States (see marker photo).

Parking can be very problematic in the vicinity of the church. During my recent Monday afternoon visit I considered myself fortunate to find a metered space on the street just two blocks away.

Thank Citallwic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were touring the University of South Carolina and decided to attend the Sunday 10:30am worship service. The church is beautiful, with a huge choir, orchestra and live television broadcast. Pastor Wendell Estep was excellent and used the Bible to connect with everyone in the congregation.

Thank rww1794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Sanctuary has been remodeled since my last visit. Fond memories were made in this Church when I was a student nurse @ the SC Baptist Hospital. We had our capping ceremony there, our choir sang there several times and also our Graduation Ceremony took place there. The Sanctuary is worth seeing.

Thank Alvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews