We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay for Clemson visits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Clemson
Certificate of Excellence
Evans, GA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay for Clemson visits”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel is in a bit of an odd location, but the service and rooms are excellent. The breakfast is quite good, and the pricing is competetive with other local hotels that don't provide a breakfast. Ask for a room away from the elevators as they make a lovely dinging noise that will keep you up all night, but otherwise my experiences here have been good. Call directly to the hotel for pricing - they will negotiate. Great place for Clemson visits as it is just minutes from campus but also near restaurants, stores, etc.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We truly do appreciate your kind words! It is always a pleasure when you stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    45
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
83
24
8
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here to attend a gymnastics event at Clemson University in JAN 2012. The hotel was very nice and clean, tucked away off the main drag, ample parking that was lighted for security. Check-in went very smoothly and the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was exactly how we ordered it, and was very clean and presentable. Nice flat screen TV, and the bed was better than the one I have at home!! After check-in the front desk provided us with a little map, and gave us recommendations on where to eat. After dinner, the kids swam in the indoor pool, which was very clean and spacious. The indoor fitness room was great as well. After a great nights sleep, we ate breakfast downstairs at the breakfast bar. Once again, no complaints here, it was really good, plenty to choose from and everything was fresh. They even have a blitzing fast computer for going on the internet and checking email, which was helpful. I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel, would stay here again and again. They got it right!!

Room Tip: I always like rooms down on the end of the hallway, away from elevators and closer to the fire esape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review. The management and staff at the Holiday Inn Express appreciate your kind words, and look forward to seeing you again at the next gymnastics event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I recently was traveling on business and stayed at this hotel. I previously had stayed at the Hampton Inn, and it was okay, but like all companies, ours is pinching pennies, and this hotel was about $15 less per night than the other. We all booked our rooms here and was very surprised at the quality. The hotel is new, it was very clean, it has a very modern vibe. Loved the overall interior design of the lobby and the rooms were equally well done.

The hotel is fairly convenient to the college, we still drove to downtown for dinner, but it was just a few minutes. The staff was friendly and for a business trip, I was pleasantly surprised for a change. If I went to Clemson for a personal trip, I definitely would choose this hotel.

Best of all was a free hot breakfast of bacon and eggs, along with a pancake machine, biscuits, and various continental breakfast options.

Great Value!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for your nice review! The staff and management at the Holiday Inn Express appreciate you taking time to complete a review. We hope that your travels, whether business or leisure, will bring you back to Clemson and to our hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed at this property two nights (a Wed. & Thurs.).

The Good
New hotel convenient to campus. Friendly staff; everything was clean and well kept.

Biggest complaint was sound insulation ... or lack thereof. I realize that it's not a "luxury hotel", but it's a shame that they skimped in this area, because it's very annoying that you can hear everything in the rooms adjacent, across, and above. A visiting sports team stayed on Thursday night and while they were probably noisier than the average patrons (until past 2 AM), it still unacceptable that people walking and talking in the hallway sound like they're right next to you in your room.

If you stay there ask for a corner room on the top floor, I request nobody be placed next to you or across from you.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. On behalf of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, I want to apologize for the issues with noise that you experienced. I hope that you will stay with us again sometime, and experience one of our upgraded corner rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed here for a gymnastics meet this past weekend. My daughter was thrilled to see a welcome sign for the gymnasts. :-) The room was clean and comfortable and my daughter and her teammates enjoyed the indoor pool. Continental breakfast was ok, but I expected that. I will say that the staff was wonderful. They helped us find a restaurant the night we arrived and was quick to help when we had a problem getting into the pool. The hotel is only a few minutes from Clemson which was also nice. Would stay here again if my daughter's team returns next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hirshmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about the staff here at the Holiday Inn Express. We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we hope that we will see you in Clemson again for the next gymnastics event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clemson hotels
2.8 km away
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
0.4 km away
Courtyard Clemson
Courtyard Clemson
#2 of 10 in Clemson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#4 of 10 in Clemson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn Clemson University Area
0.7 km away
University Inn & Conference Center
3.5 km away
Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Address: 1381 Tiger Blvd, Clemson, SC 29631-1119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Clemson
#3 Family Hotel in Clemson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clemson
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,915 - ₹ 25,691
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, SC. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is conveniently located just one mile from Clemson University, home of the Clemson Tigers and the Brooks Center for the Performing Arts. This Clemson hotel is minutes from Lake Hartwell, Southern Wesleyan University, Fort Hill Plantation, the Oconee Nuclear Power Plant and the Blue Ridge Mountains. Additional points of interest include: Hanover House, South Carolina Botanical Garden, Ashtabula Plantation, Woodburn Plantation, and the T. Ed Garrison Livestock Arena. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located in the heart of Clemson, recognized as one of four sites on the South Carolina National Heritage Corridor. Within four miles of the hotel, visitors will enjoy golfing, tennis, water skiing, racquetball, nature trails, jeep tours and white water rafting on the Chattanooga River. At the Holiday Inn Express & Suites we consider ourselves a step above the rest and enjoy accommodating specific needs for our guests to ensure a satisfying stay. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will ensure that every stay to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel is convenient, easy and relaxing. We look forward to your next visit to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, SC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Clemson - Univ Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing