We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Clemson(Clemson)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tillman(Clemson)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abernathy(Clemson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
149
48
14
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
48
14
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expressfront deskcinnamon rollsindoor poolroom was cleanpre madebreakfast barnice hotelstay there againwalk in showerexercise roomcookieshotel staffwould highly recommend this hotelmy daughtera great staycollege visit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here to attend a gymnastics event at Clemson University in JAN 2012. The hotel was very nice and clean, tucked away off the main drag, ample parking that was lighted for security. Check-in went very smoothly and the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was exactly how we ordered it, and was very clean and presentable. Nice flat screen TV, and the bed was better than the one I have at home!! After check-in the front desk provided us with a little map, and gave us recommendations on where to eat. After dinner, the kids swam in the indoor pool, which was very clean and spacious. The indoor fitness room was great as well. After a great nights sleep, we ate breakfast downstairs at the breakfast bar. Once again, no complaints here, it was really good, plenty to choose from and everything was fresh. They even have a blitzing fast computer for going on the internet and checking email, which was helpful. I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel, would stay here again and again. They got it right!!

Room Tip: I always like rooms down on the end of the hallway, away from elevators and closer to the fire esape stairs.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review. The management and staff at the Holiday Inn Express appreciate your kind words, and look forward to seeing you again at the next gymnastics event!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I recently was traveling on business and stayed at this hotel. I previously had stayed at the Hampton Inn, and it was okay, but like all companies, ours is pinching pennies, and this hotel was about $15 less per night than the other. We all booked our rooms here and was very surprised at the quality. The hotel is new, it was very clean, it has a very modern vibe. Loved the overall interior design of the lobby and the rooms were equally well done.

The hotel is fairly convenient to the college, we still drove to downtown for dinner, but it was just a few minutes. The staff was friendly and for a business trip, I was pleasantly surprised for a change. If I went to Clemson for a personal trip, I definitely would choose this hotel.

Best of all was a free hot breakfast of bacon and eggs, along with a pancake machine, biscuits, and various continental breakfast options.

Great Value!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you for your nice review! The staff and management at the Holiday Inn Express appreciate you taking time to complete a review. We hope that your travels, whether business or leisure, will bring you back to Clemson and to our hotel again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed at this property two nights (a Wed. & Thurs.).

The Good
New hotel convenient to campus. Friendly staff; everything was clean and well kept.

Biggest complaint was sound insulation ... or lack thereof. I realize that it's not a "luxury hotel", but it's a shame that they skimped in this area, because it's very annoying that you can hear everything in the rooms adjacent, across, and above. A visiting sports team stayed on Thursday night and while they were probably noisier than the average patrons (until past 2 AM), it still unacceptable that people walking and talking in the hallway sound like they're right next to you in your room.

If you stay there ask for a corner room on the top floor, I request nobody be placed next to you or across from you.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. On behalf of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, I want to apologize for the issues with noise that you experienced. I hope that you will stay with us again sometime, and experience one of our upgraded corner rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed here for a gymnastics meet this past weekend. My daughter was thrilled to see a welcome sign for the gymnasts. :-) The room was clean and comfortable and my daughter and her teammates enjoyed the indoor pool. Continental breakfast was ok, but I expected that. I will say that the staff was wonderful. They helped us find a restaurant the night we arrived and was quick to help when we had a problem getting into the pool. The hotel is only a few minutes from Clemson which was also nice. Would stay here again if my daughter's team returns next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hirshmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words about the staff here at the Holiday Inn Express. We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we hope that we will see you in Clemson again for the next gymnastics event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Mark, the desk clerk, could not have been more gracious. My family arrived very tired after a twelve hour car trip and his friendly attitude help settle everyone down. The room was clean as could be with new fixtures everywhere. Bathroom and shower were spotless. We all had a good nights sleep in this very quite hotel. The breakfast had something for everyone and the food area was relaxing and spotless. Would definitely come back here again. To sum it up, this place was clean, clean, clean!

Room Tip: Read the reviews of prior customers, most are honest and quite accurate. They just may steer you away from a bad experience.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixclemson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review. Thank you once again for your nice review! We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to the Clemson area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews