We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Ringoes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had 2 rooms/quick stay but beautiful rooms. Nice patio with chairs overlooking pool.Great decor. We had 14th floor with high ceilings and consierge level. We wanted something close to the airport and it was perfect (20 min)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMSSPERR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    375
    179
    75
    36
See reviews for
220
329
38
295
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
909 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We had a room on the 9th floor. The room was nice and the beds very good. The aircondition worked well, but the air was a bit damp - so all of my clothes felt damp as well... The fitness room was very good and spacy and the pool area was nice.

You have to pay extra to access the internet.

The location is a bit away from the center of Charlestone, so you have to use your car to get into the historic district. The parking is free, which is nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
200 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We went to Charleston for a weekend getaway. We choose the Marriott because of the brand. There was a conference at the hotel during our stay, so the hotel was very busy. Despite this, the check-in process went smoothly. Front staff was professional and helpful. We were delighted to be given a high floor room with a view of Charleston. Unfortunately the room was uninhabitable with a strong musty odor that was attempted to be covered up with heavy fragrance. We were promptly changed to a different room. Because we were tired, we accepted the 2nd room, which still had a musty odor. The room was standard Marriott, but showed signs of wear and didn't feel as clean as it should have been.

The other downside of the hotel is location. Though it is advertised as in Charleston, it is quite distant from the historical district, a long walk at best. There is not much in the immediate area. Unless you need to be in close proximity to the Medical University of South Carolina, there are better choices in the area.

The hotel isn't terrible. Free parking is a plus, and the courtyard and outdoor pool is nice. Staff is friendly, but this certainly wouldn't be our first choice when we return to Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventuretravelernc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

John Weaver is a great employee in the lounge for the evening shifts. I come there every week for business. He is a genuinely friendly indiviudal. He will remember your name after the first time you meet him. He makes a point to introduce himself to everyone that stops in the lounge. He keeps the food and desserts well stocked. The cleanliness of the lounge is also a priority for him. John will also remember what type of drink you like and will be happy to make it for you. I have stayed at over 20 Marriott properties and this is my favorite lounge I have been to. Melissa is also great in the morning shift. She works very hard as well.

Room Tip: Request a room in the middle of the hotel for optimal wireless internet connections
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel will suffice but it's nothing to write home about. It's a standard Marriott. It's neither old nor brand new/remodeled. The rooms are clean and comfortable but there's nothing to be excited about.

The location is about a mile and a half from downtown. A long walk or an overpriced hotel shuttle ride away (it really should be free).

There is a decent outdoor area to enjoy the weather. The pool area was nice, minus the hot tub which was empty of water.

Room Tip: Get a high floor for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.6 km away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
1.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.7 km away
Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,879 - ₹ 25,020
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing