We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place and convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place and convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary with a trip to Charleston and stayed here. It was a nice hotel with a cute courtyard, free wine and cheese in the afternoon and a decent breakfast. Lounging in the courtyard with a cup of coffee or glass of wine was a nice addition to our stay. The staff was friendly and everything was very nice.
Location was good - not hard to walk anywhere we wanted to go. A 10 minute walk or less could get you to most places - 15 minutes at the most.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    265
    51
    18
    11
See reviews for
185
452
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2009

Although it is an older hotel, we enjoyed the ambiance, breakfast and afternoon "tea" and especially the friendly, helpful staff. Very low key and just comfortable. Outstanding location two blocks from the market and walking to all downtown galleries, antique shops and great restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

Over the last weekend in March, it seemed like all hotels in Charleston were outrageously expensive, although Indigo represented a slightly less-expensive option.

Indigo has its own parking lot at $10/day, although we found parking near the hotel with little difficulty. Check-in was smooth although the greeting staff was not particularly interested in our arrival - simply handing over the keys and a quick set of directions to the room.

Most of the guests we saw during our stay were in the 40s-50s age group, which may say something about staying near Charleston's better shopping and dining districts anyway. The room was spacious and clean, although crammed with lots of different trinkets and decorations that didn't seem to have much to do with one another. Wireless internet was free and the bathroom was small but entirely adequate.

Indigo serves complimentary wine and cheese from 5-6:30 which was a nice plus -- we stayed for the full "wine hour" and they kept both wine and cheese well-stocked. Similarly, they set out a good breakfast bar in the morning (hard boiled eggs, some baked breads, yogurts and fruit salad) with especially good coffee.

The location of the hotel is wonderful for seeing all of the shopping areas and having access to Charleston's best restaurants. For an expensive part of Charleston at an expensive part of the year, a very good buy.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler99KansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

I have stayed at "The Indigo" many times over the years I have to say they have a bit of work to do. The Historic District location is very good, off-street parking is convenient, the morning and afternoon tidbits are yummy. However, the carpets in the guest rooms are dirty (quite dirty) and the furnishings are looking a little worse for wear. It is "pet friendly" but there isn't a close grassy spot for "Spot" to do his/her business.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

We just got back from a road trip to Charleston and had such a lovely time! I booked Indigo Inn because it was exactly what we were looking for: dog friendly, affordable, and a great location. It exceeded our expectations. Not only was the staff friendly but also the room was quite large, comfortable, and clean. It was SUCH a treat to take our dog with us on this trip. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scourmont77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,684 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,730 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,106 - ₹ 19,403
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing