We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, service and value”
Review of Indigo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Indigo Inn
Ranked #19 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“location, service and value”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

we stayed at this property for four nights, then went off to savannah for three nights and then came back for an additional night. the property has a couple of dozen rooms at the main building and several more on a side street. we stayed at the main building initially and in a room at the carriage house for our final night. this room was larger and for $20 more was worth the cost.

you could not have had a more helpful group of hosts.

the breakfast is unusual, but good. as the room where the breakfast to be had is small- the lobby-, most guests take their breakfast back to their rooms. breakfast includes a variety of fruit, including strawberries, ready packaged cereal, coffee, juices as well as sticky buns and a couple of hot dishes. you might want to stay away from the scrambled eggs as they are done in advance and just sit there in the heated enclosure, but the other items more than make up for it. the dishes do change from day to day, offering such items as quiches, bacon, sausage, biscuits with ham and so on. a pointer: if you stay in the jasmine house/carriage house, the breakfast offer is not quite so grand as the main building, so you might want to cross the street to see if the selection there is a bit better.

both the carriage house and main house have lovely courtyards for your meals/snacks when the weather cooperates.

the afternoon wine and cheese was always appreciated after hours of wandering the many delights of charleston.

Room Tip: carriage house rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mahatma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    276
    56
    18
    11
See reviews for
193
477
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We have stayed here twice and loved it both times. The rooms are clean, comfortable and charming. There are ceiling fans in the rooms, which is nice in the summer. The hotel is pet friendly. We felt welcome with our dog and children. Parking is easy because the lot is right behind the hotel. The downtown location is perfect because you can walk everywhere. The free continental breakfast is great, and you can eat it outside in the charming courtyard with relaxing fountains. We haven't been to the wine and cheese in the afternoon because we were usually out doing something. The hotel has a lot of character. We would definitely stay here again for a 3rd time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flgator1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback, and for your business.
We appreciate you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is a charming place in a perfect location. The rooms were lovely and the continental breakfast was more than expected. Wonderful fruits, juices, and divine ham biscuits. The afternoon wine and cheese hour in the beautiful courtyard was perfect. The staff was very helpful and recommended things to do and places to eat. I look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ctigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write, and we look forward to seeing you again, also!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I live in JAX, FL and covered CHAS for my job. I have probably stayed at the Indigo Inn over 50 times. I stay in the same room and its my home away from home.
Ignatius has been a long-time gracious host. He knows to save me sticky buns.

Our families meet in CHAS for Thanksgiving almost every year and have dinner at Anson's. I have never had a bad experience at teh Indigo. It has a cool vibe, great Happy Hours & Continental breakfasts, and is convenient to the market.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
We are honored that you have made our home your home, and
have enjoyed your friendship throughout the years. You and your
family are truly some of our special guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This hotel has well-kept, nicely decorated rooms, a beautiful courtyard, friendly, helpful staff, free continental breakfast and wine and cheese hour and is located right in the middle of the historic district. Best of all, it is pet-friendly. This is a terrific option in the heart of Charleston with easy parking adjacent to the hotel. You can leave your keys in the room because you can walk everywhere.

Room Tip: All rooms face the courtyard so you don't have to worry about street noise. If you are bringing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FLguyTampa_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Indigo Inn, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,765 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,144 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,826 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Inn

Property: Indigo Inn
Address: 1 Maiden Ln, Charleston, SC 29401-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,888 - ₹ 19,135
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Indigo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Indigo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Hotel Charleston
Indigo Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing