We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Round Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We loved our stay at the Holiday Inn! We chose the hotel because of the price and location. It was 5 minutes from Historic Charleston and our first night was $99! We later realized that is was a good choice because of the staff, restaurant and bar with a fabulous view. The room which also had a view of the river was very nice. If the hotel was located in downtown Charleston or maybe even the suburbs, it would have easily been twice the price. I usually do not choose corporate hotels; this had the feel of a boutique hotel. The 3rd floor pool looked good too; but unfortunately we did not make time to use it. Too many places to see on our first trip to Charleston.

Room Tip: We asked for an upper floor with a view of the river. They have a "walk-in" rate of $99 fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan_Irvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

811 - 815 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel was overall.. ok. I was using club points and was able to stay here wth a free night. For some reason I had to book two separate reservations (one for free night and another for the paid nights), so thankfully when I arrived I was able to consolodate and not have to move rooms in the middle. The hotel and the rooms are average, a bit out of date. The bathroom was again ok, although a little cleaner would have been nice. A toilet that flushed the first time would also be nice! I recevied vouchers for free food in the restaraunt- next time I'll pass and pay for my meal instead, you'd get a better breakfast at a Denny's.
The shuttle to the downtown areas was nice, however as it runs only every two hours it fills up quickly, especially as you get closer to the weekend. But the commute into the downtown area was quick so nothing was lost by staying a little ways further.
The staff was very nice. The view of the water and downtown area was nice.
Overall, a decent place to stay if you're looking to save some $$ or use points, but its nothing I'd rave about or highlt recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewall02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had a nice view from our room which always was kept clean, the only issue we noticed is the there were no windows, only a small glass door overlooking the balcony.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, they make you feel welcome.

The view from the restaurant is amazing especially at sunset, but the service should improve, our waiter - very friendly indeed - was lost for a while and when our meals arrived they were almost cold.

At nights - bedtime - you will find it hard to catch up on sleep because the noise from outside , the hotel is located between Highway 17S & 17N.

I personally would stay in this hotel again and recommend it, in the end the only thing I want is a clean place to get to sleep after spending my day sightseeing the city. If it is not because the great view, I would rate it AVERAGE

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perrote71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Our room on one of the top floors allowed a scenic view of the Ashley River, but the room had only one small sliding glass door and no windows. The room itself was very small and the uninspired furnishings definitely needed updating. The bathroom had plumbing problems; the bathroom floor was wet as was the carpeting outside the bathroom area. The bathtub and toilet were very slow to drain if at all. A workman arrived 6 hours after a request for repairs was made but the problem persisted throughout two day stay. The hotel was fully booked so another room was not available. The food is the hotel restaurant was edible but far below the standard set by the wonderful food that is available in many Charleston restaurants. Traffic noise in and around the hotel is terrible. The hotel is situated very close and in between two sections of a very busy highway and it seems that no sound proofing was installed in the rooms to block the traffic noise, and it is loud.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auntiepamAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustFred1974, Director of Revenue Management at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for having chosen our Holiday Inn Riverview in Charleston, SC; we appreciate your business. All of our rooms feature floor-to-ceiling glass doors that have been secured for your safety and provide our guests with a viewing experience of Charleston only found at our hotel. Our hotel has been a landmark of Charleston for over 40 years, providing a magnificent alternative to downtown hotels. It is located between the north and south bound lanes of highway 17 on the banks of the Ashley River and overlooking the Charleston skyline. Our Harborview Restaurant & Lounge is a great alternative for guests wanting to experience a great meal with an amazing view. There is no doubt downtown Charleston offers award winning restaurants that are easily accessible with our complimentary downtown Charleston shuttle; see website for shuttle schedule.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview provided me with a good stay this April 2012. The rooms are decent, clean and great views. The lounge on the top affords great view of Charleston. Parking is free. Rates are good for the location; which is about .5 mile from downtown. Make sure to ask for a room with a view on a higher floor if you want views. Would stay at again. Good Value.

Room Tip: High floors facing Charleston downtown area. See my photo of room 808.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 95traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
0.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
4.2 km away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#39 of 61 in Charleston
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,243 reviews
6.5 km away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 6,731 - ₹ 14,367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing