We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
125
182
149
78
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
182
149
78
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviews medical center free trolley waffle maker free breakfast downtown charleston close to downtown yogurt historic area free parking room was clean and comfortable musc college uber
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 629 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Not central of downtown but close to everything with short drive or a 1 to 1.5 mile walk. Service was good, bed was comfortable, room condition was OK but needs work. A lot of minor flaws were simply covered with paint instead of a proper finish. Sloppy. Remember, this is a Comfort Inn and an overall good value for the area.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 5GaryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique B, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Talk about a great newly renovated hotel... Clean, quiet, and comfortable. With 5 restaurants that will deliver and a hand full of fast food joints in walking distance this hotel is a great choice. Pool is seasonal, Gym had some machines out of order, however they had some bum-bells to play with.

Room tip: get the king suite..
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rod0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique B, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The room was clean, comfortable, roomy, and well maintained. Bathroom was fine. The free breakfast was excellent, and the dining room was large and cleaned frequently.

If you're here for the hospital, it's a short walk. College of Charleston is about 15 minutes walk, and the Meeting Street tourist area is 25 minutes walk to the north end and 45 minutes to the south end. There's free parking at the hotel, but not in town. The free green line bus is useful - the purple to the hotel was non-existent. Still, for the $100-$200 a night you save over the downtown hotels, you could take an uber.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bddNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique B, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Booked a block of 12 rooms. Check in took longer than expected and was confusing. However once we were in, the rooms were clean and nice. The staff was friendly and the breakfast accommodated our large group. I would recommend this to other groups. I would come back again. Its central location is a plus. We were within minutes of everything. Charleston is such a lovely town. Our stay at this hotel enhanced our experience.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Dodd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

My friend and I came in October for a girls weekend. We arrived before check-in and were able to keep our stuff with the front desk. Off to a great start! Until they opened the closet where our stuff would be kept - a dirty sprinkler room. When we got into our room it was not acceptable - toilet wouldn’t clog, leftover wire hangers from the last guest strewn about, stains ALL over the sheets, oh and a wrapper from someone’s lube...we called the desk and they moved us to the room next door. No lube this time but still stains all over the sheets. Before bed we asked for a new, clean set and they gave them to us. We covered the bed and slept on top. Also, there is a bit of an odd crowd that has been hanging around the hotel every time we get back. Despite the price, we would absolutely stay at a nicer hotel next time.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank jamhrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique B, Asst General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

We were so disappointed to see that you were dissatisfied with the conditions of the storage location as well as the rooms you were provided while at our hotel. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations as we pride ourselves in cleanliness. We take these comments to heart as we view the hotel as an extension of our own homes. I can assure you that our housekeeping department as well as the front desk staff have been retrained to ensure that future guests do not share the same experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews