We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“This is Charleston” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ansonborough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ansonborough Inn
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

This place is just plain neat. The rooms, the lobby, the decor - everything. It is an old warehouse with very high ceilings - you can stay in cookie cutter rooms anywhere (including Charleston) and pay a lot more. But why? I used to travel to Charleston on business about once a month and I stayed at many, many hotels - once I found the Ansonborough I never stayed anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jweissjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review! We try hard to make the Ansonborough Inn unique in a city with a lot of lodging options and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    186
    47
    23
    14
See reviews for
123
466
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

i agree with most of the reviews... Wonderful Rooms! ... there can be a bit of sound coming from rooms above ....i heard no trucks at all and i was on the Harris Tweeter side ... wonderful bathrooms, sheets. Front Desk was fantastic..i like happy employees.
housekeepers were silent as they worked ....Great value and great location.

i wish they had some bottled water in fridge ...even cheap stuff and king pillows for the king bed.

stay here!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay and found all of our staff to be friendly & helpful. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

This was a tough review to give because the building itself and the decor of the rooms and common areas are decorated beautifully. Everything was spotless and the tiny inn appears to be well taken care of. The biggest surprise was the size of our room!!! It was huge!!! All in all the staff was pleasant, location very nice and I felt a good value for the cost.
I'm not one to usually complain, but I have to agree with some of the other reviews written about the noise in the early morning. We had a third floor room and was woken up about 6am with the CONSTANT beeping of trucks and banging of dumpsters and anything else that could make noise. It's not a great way to wake up when trying to relax on vacation. Other than that, the breakfast was nothing fancy and the wine and cheese happy hour was nice, but as a suggestion: Please upgrade the wine selection. It was an Ernest and Gallo jug-type Burgandy wine. It was horrible.... Other than those issues, this is actually a nice place...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BWM&LJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! I am delighted to hear that the size of our rooms exceeded your expectations and that you found everything in the hotel to be tidy. Being in the heart of the histroric district certainly makes exploring Charleston convenient for our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Wonderful location in historic area and historic building. Period furnishings and was very comfortable. We were able to walk just about anywhere we wanted to go. Continental breakfast was included. The lobby was also cozy and a great place to relax.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat34373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you found our property comfortable and convenient! I hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

The Ansonborough Inn is perfectly located for all walking tours of historic Charleston. This Inn has loads of charm and a friendly helpful staff. Close to great restaurants, historic sites and across the street from a good grocery story/pharmacy. Spacious rooms, again with a lot of charm and unique features. Good breakfasts, lots of good tourism literature and restaurant menus in the lobby, good coffee all day, can't ask for more in an old and charming inn.

Room Tip: Junior suites are incredible and a great value...all rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biked_it_Liked_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Thanks so much for glowing review of our property! I am delighted to hear that all aspects of your stay were pleasant and I look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansonborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansonborough Inn

Property: Ansonborough Inn
Address: 21 Hasell St, Charleston, SC 29401-2601
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#14 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,621 - ₹ 26,280
Hotel Class:3 star — Ansonborough Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ansonborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansonborough Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing