We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dewberry Charleston
Nearby Hotels
US$ 503
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 422
US$ 409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$ 307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$ 315
US$ 284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 279
US$ 256
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$ 147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 282
US$ 250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$ 460
US$ 446
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$ 141
US$ 121
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
491
63
23
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
491
63
23
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmid centuryliving roomfederal buildingmad mencraft cocktailsmarion squarefarmers marketlobby baramazing hotelconcierge deskguest serviceshotel experienceking streetluxury hotelfavorite hotelsouthern hospitalityhigh ceilings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved everything about the hotel. Location (could walk everywhere), design (luxe and impressive, museum-quality furnishings), service, amenities. It made our trip. We upgraded to a small suite after reading that the regular rooms are small and felt it was very fairly priced. Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarkFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDewberrySC, Front Office Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed The Dewberry's accommodations so greatly. The custom design seen throughout the hotel is our very own 'southern reimagined' brand. We hope to serve you again in the near future.

- Suzanne Kassel, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is a beautiful hotel that has been done in the Midcentury Style - the Interior Decorator group can rightfully take proud in this creation . The detail in everything is impeccable and well appreciated by us. The room was very small but very tastefully done. The wall had a huge wear and tear tell-tell sign. The dressing gowns made me think twice of using it. What a pity for both counts. The feel of the hotel and its staff: extremely snobbish and pretentious, and such a pity since it does not have to be like that, but that is their perogitive as a business to run it the way they like. The staff in the breakfast lounge were impeccable in service and a pleasure, not too over friendly but very attentive. And yes, the Old Fashioned is lovely in the bar/cocktail lounge.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodaccomdation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDewberrySC, Front Office Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review of The Dewberry. We are glad to hear you enjoyed Henrietta's and the decor of the hotel, however, we are extremely sorry to hear you found the demeanor of the staff to be pretentious. We pride ourselves on outstanding customer service and that is not the way we want to come off. If you would like, please reach out to me at skassel@dewberryhotels.com so we can further discuss your experience.

-Suzanne Kassel, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff and concierge were so courteous and friendly. They went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and happy. We were greeted with bottles of ice cold water, very refreshing after a long four hour drive. Our room was fresh and elegantly decorated. All the sites, restaurants, and shops we wanted to visit were just one block over and a short walk in either direction form the hotel. This meant the street in front of the hotel was relatively quiet and had only light traffic. Complementary coffee and tea was provided in the lobby each morning and the hotel restaurant, Henrietta, had a lively but aristocratic atmosphere. We would definitely choose to stay at the Dewberry again!

Room Tip: I can't imagine any room in this hotel having an issue.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TripleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDewberrySC, Front Office Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review of The Dewberry! We are so glad to hear you had a relaxing and memorable stay. We can't wait to have you stay with us again next time!

-Suzanne Kassel, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Dewberry for four nights. Our room was very spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom had a huge shower. We enjoyed drinks in the lounge and breakfast at Henrietta’s. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful!

Stayed: April 2018
Thank KristiS627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDewberrySC, Front Office Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are so thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay at The Dewberry and our staff took great care of you.

-Suzanne Kassell, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything about the Dewberry is amazing, and made for a relaxing and enjoyable stay in Charleston. From excellent service to the beautiful retro decor, music and comfortable rooms, I don't think there is a better hotel in Charleston.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne K, Front Office Manager at The Dewberry Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sarah,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the kind words! We certainly take pride in our service and the mid-century decor so I'm glad you noticed it during your time with us. We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to Charleston!

Cheers,

Suzanne Kassel
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews