We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Squeeze Bar - CLOSED

Squeeze Bar
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Nestled in the midst of historic downtown Charleston, amongst some of the city’s finest restaurants and bars, Squeeze is a hidden gem.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Stopped in for drinks one night while in town. Nice atmosphere and friendly service. I can see how this would be a hot spot for locals and tourists alike.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keepinmommahappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    21
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Neat place to have a drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

This is the smallest and narrowest bar in Charleston. Average priced drinks, cool place to "bump" into people and get a conversation started

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank RushRedImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Squeezed in for some great drinks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

Great place, so much character, bartender had a fun personality. Loved the speciality drinks, and my boyfriend was very pleased they had Bermuda rum, and featured a 'Dark and Stormy'.

Helpful?
Thank Beach_Run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Tiny Bar with Superior Cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

A totally cute little bar "squeezed" onto the main street. Great assortment of specialty cocktails....I wish they opened a little earlier for pre-dinner drinks...try them for after dinner drinks. Lovely prosecco cocktails with all kinds of combinations.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank proudrepublican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My favorite bar in the entire city by far.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I come to squeeze probably twice a week. What is amazing about it is that there is no food menu, yet I am always going out of my way to go there for a before dinner drink, after dinner drink, or if I'm out with friends, we always make a stop. Squeeze to me is a place where you can go and feel welcome. The bartenders can strike up a conversation and make your experience personalized.

You will be very impressed with their cocktail list and selection of wine. They also carry rhums, scotches, and bourbons, that you are not likely to see anywhere else in town. My favorite martini is the rain dance martini, which is made with a rain vodka (cucumber flavored). They have champagne cocktails, and are also willing to whip you something on the fly if you tell them your favorite ingredients. They have a great happy hour daily and also run a special on wine on Wednesdays. It is a tight "squeeze" to fit into the bar when it is crowded, but that's part of what makes the bar fun. Everytime I go there, I see someone I know. To me, it "my" bar. The only place I want to go when I want to go out. Not the type of place you will see obnoxious drunks or crowds of college students or bacherlorette parties. The crowd is always a fun, young adult, respectful group. You will be well taken care of!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Squeeze Bar also viewed

Daniel Island, Charleston
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Daniel Island, Charleston
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing