We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Find another place to stay!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Find another place to stay!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

There are many lovely hotels/motels to stay in the area, this is not one of them. We had some concerns about the cleanliness of our room and the security. The pool that they boast about is nothing special. However, our biggest concern was the General Manager. Definitely does not have that Southern Charm that this area is known for. I would stay away from this place. There are some very nice Best Westerns to stay in the area. Choose one of those instead.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elenis133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
We are aware of this guest's concerns and opinion. Since sometimes the best thing to say is nothing at all, we will let our numerous other reviews speak for our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    343
    114
    61
    43
See reviews for
369
385
55
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

It's not the Ritz-Carleton but it is a moderately priced quiet nicely appointed hotel/motel only 10 minutes from downtown. The rooms are average size. The outdoor area is very nicely appointed and very clean with a pool that almost never seemed to be used for the four days that we stayed there. It was exceptionally quiet while we were there. (you can't blame the hotel for rude noisy guests)

We had a issue which the manager immediately corrected. The GM seems to be on top of everything The room was a little musty when we checked in but other than that, we enjoyed our time there.
My only complaint...the windows won't open, which means the AC has to be on almost all the time. (we were there in March). I would recommend Sweetgrass Inn to our friends.

Room Tip: If you aren't happy with anything at the Sawgrass, (not petty stuff, like there aren't enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ionamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to share their comments. We always appreciate guest feedback as it allows us to concentrate our efforts on those items most important to our guests.

Our goal is to offer clean, comfortable accommodations with great service. Obviously, in this case, we came close to that goal. As we share these comments with our staff, I am sure they will be excited to read that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

At 5 AM someone was kicking in door to our room, called police who responded fast but made light as it was a military fellow who was drunk (not what you would expect from law officer) checked out soon after, no regrets or concern by anyone at BestWestern about this after paying way to much for this motel ,other BestWestern properties we stayed on this trip were EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teamster671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Many thanks to this guest for taking the time to share their comments. We place a high premium on guest feedback, as it allows us to constantly improve our operations.

I am sorry that an intoxicated person found their way to your door. I am also sorry that the local police did not take the complaint seriously. I am even more sorry that you felt the hotel staff did not care about your situation. While we have not had many complaints of this nature our staff is trained to respond to all guest concerns. I will be using this review as a trainign tool to show them that they must make sure the guest is aware of their concern.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I thought I was getting a good deal by staying at this hotel, but I was sadly disappointed. I travel quite a bit, including stays in developing countries, and Usually the reviews on this site are pretty reliable. Not in this case, however. I just couldn't get past the musty odor in the room. The furniture also had stains and looked run down. Since I was on a long road trip with my kids, I was looking forward to a room of higher quality and cleanliness. Aside from the room odor, the chair at the desk clearly didn't fit, and I had to yank several times to dislodge it from under the desk. I should have left it there, because it smelled musty too. Too bad this was a prepaid reservation, or I would have left right away. I've stayed at other Best Western hotels before and this was definitely the worst one I've stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentTravelerGyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to share their comments. We always appreciate guest feedback, be it positive or negative.

I was shocked when I read this guest's review. Our goal is to offer clean, comfortable accommodations with great guest service. Obviously, in this guest's case, we failed to live up to our goals. As we share these reviews with our staff, this review will be highlight of our next associate meeting.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here for new years and we were throughouly surprised. During check in, we were greeted with such welcome that it almost felt unreal. The lobby was beautiful and there were snack for your taking. Breakfast was also served here. The hotel room was really clean and didn't smell like some other hotels we had stayed at previously in charleston. The beds were so comfortable, which I don't think I've ever said about a hotel. It really felt luxurious! I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapressley2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SICGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
I would like to thank this guest for their wonderful comments. We always appreciate guest feedback as it allows us the opportunity to improve.

Our goal is to offer clean, comfortable accommodations with excellent guest service. In this case at least, it appears we came close to achieving that goal. As we share these comments with our staff, I am sure they will be very excited to read that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 km away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#39 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.2 km away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.7 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
3.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,052 - ₹ 13,177
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing