We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for a few nights and we loved it. Good location. it is a very nice quaint hotel with lots of charm. Rooms were a good size. Beds were comfortable. Parking was included which was great. We would definitely stay here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ritz1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 2,863 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We recently spent 5 nights here and were satisfied with our choice. We did drive to town so the free parking was wonderful. When we did leave for the day there was no problems getting a new spot. As others have said, the room was small, with very little room between the foot of the beds and the TV stand and desk, but very workable. The room was very clean and the staff provided what we asked for, including bottled water each day. Afternoon reception was cheeses and crackers and each evening there was fresh cookies. The pool is small but very clean and nice on hot day. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The inn is very centrally located to sights, shopping and eating. The only other issue is that the air conditioner was one of the loudest we ever experienced. If you are a light sleeper then ear plugs will be needed. I would highly recommend staying here when visiting the area. Also, once you have booked your room directly through their website, keep checking the prices, because if they drop just call and they will give you the new lower rate. I did it 2 times. (Only if you book through them and not a third party)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rbross50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

The hotel will always offer the lowest rates so please feel to check out website or call directly! Thank you for sharing such a positive review! We appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at your hotel. Based on our plans, the hotel was in the perfect locations. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. It may be helpful to include a microwave in each room. During the receptions we were visited by two employee staff members who were interested in knowing how we were enjoying our stay at your hotel. That made us feel happy and we felt as if you really appreciated us as a guest.

Room Tip: These room was clean. It maybe helpful to offer a microwave in each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank B5942PNlindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am happy to hear our location, staff and amenities all met your needs! I appreciate your comments on a microwave but being located in a seafood town, the leftovers being warmed up does leave such an order, we opted not to install any. If you ever need an item heated, we would be happy to do so in our restaurant or the Front Desk can assist! Thank you for taking the time to share your compliments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This was a great place to stay. It is an older inn but it has been updated and has lots of charm. The staff were friendly and helpful. The inn is in a great location convenient to all of the homes, the waterway and the Meeting Street Market.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am happy to hear we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for allowing us to serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This beautiful property is located within the heart of historic downtown Charleston and was truly an enjoyable experience. The staff was top notch and the complimentary parking was a must have. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever had! The welcome reception was very nice and great chance to meet other guests while receiving recommendations on dining and other things to discover from very knowledgable and friendly staff. We will definitely recommend this superb property to others. Thank you for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank T6584YLdavidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the glowing, five star review! I appreciate you recognizing our staff and will certainly share it with them! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,636 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,265 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 11,040 - ₹ 27,276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing