We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #16 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
new milford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

perfect location, free parking. didn't take our car out once. free local bus.
lovely room very clean and comfortable. loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your Charleston experience! I'm glad you enjoyed being literally steps away from the Free downtown trolley! Location is everything!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,749
    727
    182
    67
    40
See reviews for
612
1,402
83
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schaefferstown
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We really enjoyed the location of this hotel, near the historic district and good restaurants. Free parking was also a plus, and the staff were all very friendly. Hot and cold breakfast buffet (extra) was convenient and good.

On the downside: our room was very small and really noisy because of the loud fan on the heat/ac unit right next to the bed. We had trouble sleeping, in fact.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room--and inquire about a/c unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herstoryprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback! I am glad you enjoyed your visit and I apologize for the AC unit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, MA
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in a junior suite at the King Charles Inn for 3 nights. The hotel was a great location for downtown Charleston. We walked everywhere (King Street shopping, Market Street, Aquarium, College of Charleston, Battery). Hotel also includes parking which is in very short supply around Charleston. The cost was pricey given it was slow season, but compared to other properties, it was a good price. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m4squad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
I am so happy you enjoyed our great location! I have to agree, its nice to park your car and walk everywhere! Charleston has so much to offer I hope you were able to take advantage of everything! Thank you for the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My second visit to the hotel when we took our sons family to see Charleston. Park your car at the hotel and walk three blocks to "everything". The inn keeps the historic flavor, small but accommodating. Nice pool, happy hour with crackers, fruit and cheese. Rooms are lovely.

Room Tip: This time we had two double beds but if you are a couple ask for queen size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for being a Repeat Guest! I sincerely appreciate your loyalty to the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rock hill
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We recently stayed at this Hotel during our trip to Charleston. This place is in a perfect location. The Staff is wonderful. The place looked like new. The roon was imaculate. It was beautifully decorated and it Felt sanitized it was so clean. Even the remote control was sanitized and in a little bag. The bed was more comfortable than my bed at home.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everett h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
I am so thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the King Charles Inn and especially our comfortable, pillowtop Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses! A good nights sleep is what you deserve! Thank you again for the nice compliments and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,148 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
2,870 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 62 in Charleston
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,916 - ₹ 25,121
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing