We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ambience and hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
King Charles Inn
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ambience and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My second visit to the hotel when we took our sons family to see Charleston. Park your car at the hotel and walk three blocks to "everything". The inn keeps the historic flavor, small but accommodating. Nice pool, happy hour with crackers, fruit and cheese. Rooms are lovely.

Room Tip: This time we had two double beds but if you are a couple ask for queen size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for being a Repeat Guest! I sincerely appreciate your loyalty to the King Charles Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,673
    703
    176
    63
    40
See reviews for
591
1,348
81
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rock hill
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We recently stayed at this Hotel during our trip to Charleston. This place is in a perfect location. The Staff is wonderful. The place looked like new. The roon was imaculate. It was beautifully decorated and it Felt sanitized it was so clean. Even the remote control was sanitized and in a little bag. The bed was more comfortable than my bed at home.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank everett h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
I am so thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the King Charles Inn and especially our comfortable, pillowtop Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses! A good nights sleep is what you deserve! Thank you again for the nice compliments and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Had the pleasure of staying at the King Charles Inn for 3 nights. Very very clean! Our king size bed room had two nice upholstered chairs with foot stools and the room featured a walk out onto a balcony with two rocking chairs to enjoy the fresh air. There were a couple of small issues like a leaky ice bucket, but all was quickly corrected! Manager Maureen Sheridan made us feel like we were in her home. She was great with dinner suggestions and with general knowledge about Charleston. Breakfast buffet was good, hot, and tasty. They offer cheese and crackers in the afternoon and fresh baked cookies at night. The pool deck is elevated off the street level and you can sit on the pool deck and watch the world as they walk Meeting Street out front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a king room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Realtor_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review about the King Charles Inn! It was certainly a pleasure serving you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Everything was lovely...the location, the concierge service, the beds, tea, quiet atmosphere , happy hour at 4pm. Maureen and Micheal provided a special mention to a restaurant that it was our 31 st wedding anniversary where the place welcomed us with
"happy 31st anniversary" and sparkling wine. When we returned to our hotel room a card, chocolates and a small bottle of wine was waiting for us! Thank you for all your help and hospitality,
HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE. WOULD COME BACK HERE IN A HEART BEAT.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am so glad we exceeded your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We recently booked on line a room in this Inn in Charleston, SC, not knowing anything about it, only what we could check out on trip advisors. It is a charming place to stay. Everyone working at the Inn were very helpful, polite and pleasant. We stayed there in early March 2012 and on our return trip back home went back to Charleston and stayed at the Inn. We enjoyed the hostess cocktail hour, meeting new friends and having nice conversations. We liked the fact that we were located in the middle of everything. Rooms are clean, and pleasant. Parking can be
tight, but liked the idea we had a safe place to park and could walk to everything we wished to do.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Mak sure it is not close to the kitchen and breakfast dining room. Too much noise early in the AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweet1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
On behalf of our entire team, thank you for staying with us! We greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel and thank you for helping us spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,688 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,702 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Property: King Charles Inn
Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,209 - ₹ 31,569
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing