We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,136)
Filter reviews
1,136 results
Traveller rating
686
325
79
32
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
686
325
79
32
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews king street historic district great hotel free breakfast self park upper king indoor pool uber ride restaurants and bars construction noise parking garage lots of great restaurants within walking distance clean hotel free trolley sitting area would stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 1,136 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Our room was beautiful and clean, nice spot at an end of King street, walking distance to all the local attractions, breakfast was fantastic a nice addition to our stay, would definitely recommend staying here!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank melanierx123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny M, Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

melanierx123,

I appreciate your kind words regarding your stay with us and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure to pass along your comments about breakfast to our Food & Beverage department for celebration with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Charleston again soon.

Best,
Manny Montes
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed here five days. The hotel is close to many restaurants and bars. It’s on the N. King St. however so there can be a lot of walking to the French quarter and the historic district
We used Uber quiet a bit; first to hotel from airport and then to restaurants or to get back after long walks. Good hotel for value; beds were nice; breakfast could be improved.
Suggested tips:
Carriage works tour - early am
Grill 225 roof top lounge -drinks
Hanks seafood - dinner
Nathanial Russell House-docent tour
Amen restaurant for lunch
The Grocery- dinner
Callie’s hot little biscuit- order ahead on line
Calhoun Mansion
McLeod plantation
Muse restaurant and wine bar-dinner
Vintage Lounge
Venadu -rooftop lounge-drinks,
Restaurant was good too

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank drastler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny M, Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Drastler,
Thank you for your 4 star review! I appreciate you letting us know exactly what we can do to give you a 5 star experience next time. We are glad that you enjoyed a good bit of Charleston during your stay and appreciated the value that the hotel and the comfort our Hyatt Grand Bed provided. Rest assured our Food & Beverage team are hard at work to improve based on feedback and we have new options that will be launching later this year. All of this is due to feedback such as yours. We appreciate your choice of Hyatt for your stay and look forward to hosting you on your next visit.

Best,
Manny Montes
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

The location is convenient to parking, restaurants, bus service, and shopping. It's also very easy for ride-share to drop off and pick up at the front door. Check-in/out was easy with friendly staff. Our room and bathroom were spacious with 2 queens and a sofa. Beds were very comfortable. The not so great - the carpet was dirty; the bathroom air conditioner vent was covered in lint (showing it hadn't been cleaned in some time and it was easily accessible to clean) and the bathroom is just odd with a frosted glass sliding door. It offers no privacy from the room as you can hear everything happening in the bathroom (also no vent fan). The room door is very loud opening and closing as are others as you can hear them down the hall. Hallway noise is very noticeable in the room.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel Mom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny M, Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Travel Mom,

Thank you for your kind words and your 4/5 star review. I am very glad that you found our staff to be friendly as well as a simple check-in and out process. I am however sorry that your room was anything less than excellent, we will continue to take feedback such as yours to improve the cleanliness and quality of the rooms.

If you have further questions or concerns please feel free to reach out to me directly, I look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit.

Best,
Manny Montes
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

This hotel is fairly new and it is co-joined with the Hyatt house (big lobby with plenty of seating area).
It is up north of king street. Probably in a few years even more walkable since there is a lot of construction and renovation right now.

It is a 20 minute walk to the square but the hotel has a bike rental city program.
If you want to uber or go to market street, then it's about $10 one way.

The hotel is nice provided the amenities as accustomed by Hyatt. Wifi and the tv signal were not always great.

Good breakfast selections and ample place to sit which is the large lobby spanning from both hotels.

Friendly staff.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank CecibelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny M, Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

CecibelB,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our hotel and breakfast options. Rest assured I will have our I.T. team and chief engineer take a look into the WiFi and TV issues that you noted. We always appreciate hearing from guests and we look forward to your next visit to our property.

Best,
Manny Montes
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

The hotelroom was nice, except for the nail clippings in the bathtub (upon arrival and after a cleaning), the bathtub/shower didn’t drain, there was weird tape on the walls, and there was advertising everywhere (even the bathroom). We informed the hotel staff, but still paid $265/night for a dirty room. Thankfully the beds were clean and comfortable.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank ALeafOnTheWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny M, Manager at Hyatt Place Charleston/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

aleafonthewind,

I certainly apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. I have spoken with the executive housekeeper regarding the issues and we are actively working to fix them. Obviously we cannot change the past however I would like to discuss this issue with you further, if you would like please contact me directly at manuel.montes@hyatt.com

Best Regards,
Manny Montes
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews