We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (828)
Filter reviews
828 results
Traveller rating
279
250
171
77
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
250
171
77
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ashley river front desk charleston downtown breakfast bar river view free breakfast free parking minute drive morning breakfast yogurt the entire staff king street musc trolley pets citadel proximity
Filter
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 828 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Great Hotel to stay at in Charleston. No it is not walking distance to downtown, and is not super fancy like some of the other places you can stay, but it is also a fraction of the price. The breakfast was pretty solid. They had hot bacon, sausage, and eggs along with a pancake maker and all the other stuff you would expect. (Fun Fact: They also sale beer at the front desk).

I think I booked the room for like $150 a night. Parking at the hotel was included. Parking dt is expensive, and many of the decks are a flat rate for the entire day. This hotel is about 10 min from the historic district. Just a overall good hotel for someone who wants to enjoy Charleston, but not for $350 a night.

FYI the hotel has deal with a taxi company for $10 trips to downtown. I used that and ubberd back for like $8

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2016

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown Ashley River. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. We look forward to serving you again when you next return to

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016

The hotel is located just OUTSIDE the historic downtown, at the intersection of highways. Easy to get to, but not walkable from anywhere. Beware, or they may fob you off with a rear room with ventilator view. The hotel does permit pets, and is a good value.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2016

Thank you for choosing during your recent visit Charleston. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel does offer both Riverview Rooms and non Riverview Rooms, simple ask of our reservations for a Riverview room and they will be delighted to book one of these for you when you next visit Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016

A great hotel. The staff was very helpful, friendly. We were able to make sightseeing tour arrangements at the hotel and the staff was very good with providing recommendations. Very close to downtown, plantations,citadel.
A great trip. Thank you

Date of stay: February 2016
Thank ShielaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2016

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express during your recent visit to Historic Charleston. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again when you next visit Charleston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

I can not say enough about the front desk staff . So nice and acomadating. She went over and beyond her job . That's what I call customer service. Company's need more people working for them like her. A Big raise is in order for the whole team . The Bed .. OMG !! I want one . The house keepers so friendly. Ask us everyday if we were enjoying our trip. Just generally southern hospitality! Clean and very convenient to downtown

Room tip: Ask the front desk. You won't have to ask they offer it to you!
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robiny330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

It is great to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us during your recent trip Robin. We too agree that the front desk staff knows how to provide excellent service and it is great to know you experienced that. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

Hotel is a little dated, but is in decent repair. Not enough lighting in guest room & no "easy" chair. Not much vanity space in bathroom. The hotel is in the landing flight path of the airport, but was not too disruptive. Room price was reasonable.

Our first visit to Charleston & only overnight. We arrived during the 5 pm rush hour, & our map app gave faulty directions, so ended up arriving in the dark. We found this hotel on the IHG app & thought we would be in walking distance of the historic downtown which doesn't appear to be the case. So a little disappointing.

The staff is very friendly & helpful. An average experience; but would choose another hotel if still have to drive into downtown.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 982teresab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Thank you for sharing details regarding your recent stay Teresa! We will be reviewing our location on the IHG app right away to ensure that any confusion regarding our proximity to the historic district is cleared up right away. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay otherwise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews