We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (818)
Filter reviews
818 results
Traveller rating
277
248
169
75
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
248
169
75
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsashley riverfront deskbreakfast barriver viewfree breakfastfree parkingminute drivemorning breakfastyogurtking streetmuscfreewaycitadelproximityhousekeepercollege
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 818 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2016

While the location of this hotel is not what we thought it would be, it is an easy and free bus ride to the visitor center and beyond. The rooms at this Holiday Inn were spacious, the beds very comfortable, and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They do know and practice good customer relations! The complimentary breakfast was one of the best I've had, but did attract a large flock of guests. We did have to wait for a table on two occasions. The rates for this hotel were about half of what you would pay downtown, so if you are on a budget, I would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Top floor (8th) afford a nice view of the Ashley River
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waltonlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Thank you for the wonderful review Waltonlake! It is great to hear that you found great value in staying with us and we hope that you choose to do so again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

We were disappointed in this hotel.
Cons: It is not downtown...you have to drive there. Rooms are tiny & very basic. If you have a dog, you have to stay on the second floor. Rooms need updating. Neighborhood mediocre at best.
Pros:
Room & bathroom very clean. No dog smell even tho we were on the dog-friendly floor.
Staff very friendly & accommodating.
Very good breakfast options.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelingTwo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Dear TravelingTwo2015,

Thank you for leaving us a review where you not only stated the negative but also pointed out the positive. We are happy that you were satisfied with the service level of our staff and we certainly appreciate your nice feedback on our breakfast selection. However, we regret that we did not meet your expectations regarding our rooms and location.

I assure you that we take every comment seriously. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Joel A
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

The address of this establishment says, "Downtown." It is not downtown. While the room was very nice, beds comfortable; overall I was disappointed in this establishment. I had to go down to the front desk on my first morning and get coffee because the coffee maker in the room DID NOT have a basket for placing the coffee pod. The light bulb above the table was burned out, there was not enough light for reading; and the halls smelled of cigarettes. I will not stay at this establishment, again.

Room Tip: Call before booking.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Dear LINDA K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that you were not satisfied with your stay let alone liked our location. I sincerely apologize if you may have experienced any inconvenience with some of our room amenities and the unusual smell. Although I would have preferred you had a better experience, I appreciate that you have brought these to our attention. I have shared your comments with our hotel management to consider taking appropriate actions to improving our service and amenities.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you will allow us to host you again.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Went with my sister, we're late 20's early 30's. Needed some sunshine after a rather brutal winter and the Ashley Holiday Inn proved to be comfortable and within our budget. The room and staff met all of our needs. We could walk to all of the attractions downtown.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
Thank Iphigeniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Dear Iphigeniae,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I am pleased to know that we were able to meet your expectations when it comes to providing a comfortable and friendly accommodation. Your kind comments are highly appreciated. Let us assure you that we will continuously strive for improvement to make your future stays as good or even better.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

Brian the night clerk was amazing in helping us chose the best accommodotion for our needs. Most of my conversations took place with him at 4:00 am! from home in NY. Just lovely to talk to. His warmth and friendliness made up for any shortcomings of the facility. The good. Location very convenient to downtown. We used Uber at a cost of about 7-8 dollars each way. Difficult to enter and exit, really odd ball lay out. Breakfast, plentiful eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy and usual pastries. Very good. The room was SPOTLESS! It made up for what it lacked. The not so great. The grounds were dirty and unkept. First impressions...you would not stay. Vacant dirty lot next door. Trash area for hotel broken down and dirty looking. Landscaping was terrible except for the front. Around back, Wood needed paint. The hall AC dripped water out of a cockeyed eves trough over the door. The room DARK, DARK, DARK we had to take shades off lamps and put them back on before leaving. It was horrible. I called the front desk at 5 pm day of arrival to ask for a lamp but no one answered the front desk phone. The bedskirt was all tucked up under the mattress and NO bed scarf as is usual these days to compliment decor. Room was drab, dark. A futile attempt albeit cheap upgrade of modern paint, fresh curtains. The tub had sloppy grout, rust stains on tile area, the room had poorly repaired holes in wall, but the room was so dark they didn't show too badly. Limited 40 or so channels.
Obviously the owners did some quick flashy upgrades to lobby and low cost attempt to freshen rooms. But poorly and cheaply done. If I stayed again only would be due to staff such as Brian but otherwise this Inn does not stack up. Shabby at best when you get past the lobby. FIRE HAZARD! The crash bar on the outside back door would not open from the inside 95% of the time. Kick it, pound it, it would not open. Staff could not open it. I'm talking from the INSIDE if there was a fire thank God for the sliding door. Come to find out there is a sensor over the door. You must know its there and move your body til it lights up. Very dangerous set up.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank suitcaseannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2016

Dear suitcaseannie,

We appreciate your review of your stay with us and for your kind words about how helpful Brian was before and during your stay. We have been in the process of upgrading many of the areas of the hotel and we hope you will be back to see our improvements under new management since your last stay.

Best regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews