We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveller rating
278
249
170
76
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
249
170
76
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ashley river front desk breakfast bar free breakfast free parking minute drive morning breakfast yogurt king street musc freeway citadel proximity housekeeper college
Filter
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 822 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2015

Disappointed in this hotel, located in very busy area-hard to pull out on the highway. Did not think our room was very clean; especially the bathroom-the water did not drain out of the tub very well and the shower liner was dirty. Breakfast was the highlight-delicious cinnamon rolls. The employees were very nice. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverly655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2016

Dear beverly655,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay with us. We are glad that you liked our breakfast selection and that you found our staff to be very nice. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for falling short of your expectations regarding our rooms and bathrooms. We also regret the issues you had with our location. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. In addition, your feedback has been forwarded to our management for review.

Again, our apologies for the inconvenience and we hope to have another opportunity to provide you a much better experience.

Sincerely,

Joel A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015

Very nice motel, friendly staff and great breakfast. Comfortable clean room, would use this motel again. Had never been to Charleston, Motel easy to find and plenty of parking, trolley or bus pick-up close by. Good job!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Dear Debbie M,

We wanted to thank you for your stay with us over the Holidays. Charleston is a special place year round, but Christmas in Charleston is extra special. We hope to see you back again in the future.

Best regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015

We were here for a few days with several family members. Rooms were average. Breakfast was average. Location is kind of inconvenient for "downtown" walking, so the naming of the hotel is rather misleading. It took us about 20-25 minutes to walk "briskly" to and from center of town and we had to cross a very busy 4 lane freeway. The shuttle some reviewers have mentioned never came so we ended up calling for a taxi service each day (to and from downtown). Can't say I would recommend if you wanted to be in walking distance. No restaurants near by only a McDonalds and an Arby's (but you had to cross several lanes in heavy traffic to reach the Arby's). The freeway/highway on-ramp is right next to the driveway so keep your eyes open!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlohaHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Dear AlohaHonolulu,

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and comfortable accommodations and we appreciate your business with us. We regret if the location of the property did not live up to your expectations. We will take steps to ensure your review will be shared with the hotel management to ensure this is acknowledged and to ensure necessary action will be taken, in order to meet our guests' needs and expectations.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and hope this will not deter you from giving us opportunities to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Divina P.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015

My boyfriend and I spent 3 days at the Holiday Inn Express as part of a mini-vacation in Charleston. This is obviously not a luxury property, but it is designed for comfort and convenience, and it succeeds very well in those respects. Kudos to the front desk staff, who were some of the friendliest I have encountered at any hotel. There is free WiFi in the room, as well as a mini-fridge, microwave, small coffeemaker, and other amenities. The hotel is less than a 10-minute drive to downtown Charleston, so it's convenient if you have a car--and parking at the hotel is free. Breakfast is free, too, which is nice; it's not fancy, but there are sufficient choices. All-in-all, I have no complaints.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank EthanFriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We hope you will return to Charleston and stay with us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

Excellent hotel within 10 mins of Rainbow Row and Liberty Square all for $99. I was surprised with how spacious the actual room was. We had a very late check in but Sharon at the desk was very friendly and helpful and she was back at work at 7am the next morning. Parking was a chore because they were booked solid that night but there was a small gravel lot right next door. We will stay here again next time we come to visit Charleston.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We hope you will return to Charleston and stay with us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews