We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palmer's Pinckney Inn
Ranked #12 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2017

The location right in the middle of historic Charleston was excellent. The old-fashioned charm was a fun alternative to boring hotels. And the staff - especially Michael and Carla - were very kind and accommodating. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: I'd choose a downstairs room since the stairs are located outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mpkeebler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

You can't beat the location of this property -- only about a block from Market Street and the City Market. Michael was a wonderful host when we arrived -- he gave many recommendations of things to see, including some historic homes. The B&B is a "single" home (as are many historic homes in Charleston). The breakfast was continental -- cereal, yogurt, fruit. A nice touch was sandwich meat, cheese and bread in the refrigerator; we were told to help ourselves, and we ended up stopping by the B&B for lunch one day as we were in the area when we were hungry. There is a parking lot right across the street and we left our car there for $15 a day (we would have been able to go in and out without paying more, though we did not). We would definitely return here should be come to Charleston again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Loved the Inn! Everyone so friendly and helpful. Thanks Michael, Martha and everyone their loved our room the Parisian. Highly recommend. Can walk to great restaurants and market. Carriage rides right next to the Inn.

Room Tip: We like being in a room towards the back away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank almummau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Can't recommend this place enough! The staff Carla and Michael were sooooo sweet and helpful to us and really made our stay something special. The room was authentic and cozy, and breakfast was perfect! Thank you so much - we will come back for sure :)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephinewiboltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We booked to stay at the b&b whilst on our tour around the south eastern states of the US with Charleston as one of our 'must see' places. Unfortunately our arrival also coincided with the arrival of a tropical storm.
The room we booked was the Charleston Rice room which featured a king size four-poster bed, very high ceilings, a fire place and period furnishings. Tea and coffee making facilities and wine glasses and glass tumblers were provided as well as cutlery for our use. The room was cleaned to a degree we've rarely experienced on our travels, in fact, it absolutely shone!
Parking was a breeze being available immediately opposite the property at $15 per day. Considering it's proximity to the heart of Charleston, that is a steal. It is possible to park cheaper elsewhere, but I'd rather have my car in view.
On arrival we were greeted by the lovely Michael, a true southern gent who could not do enough for us. We also met the equally lovely Miss Carla who is responsible for the bulk of the cleaning. What an amazing housekeeper she is!
The breakfast part of the deal is basically a help yourself set up with cereals, fruit, yoghurt, bagels, cereal bars, pastries, tea and coffee freely available. If you want a big slap up then try elsewhere but this is a perfectly adequate continental breakfast to start your day.
Our bed was super comfortable with some of the finest sheets I have ever slept on. The bed itself did sit quite high as it was a proper old fashioned one so did need a little climbing into! This wasn't an issue but was noticeable and quaint.
The room was on the second floor (first, if you are from the UK!) and shared the access balcony, complete with rocking chairs, with the Bombay room next door.
There are stables next to the Inn which house some of the horses that pull the tourist carriages around Charleston. They have no impact whatsoever on the enjoyment of your stay and I'm sure horse lovers would enjoy them.
On our second night, the storm I'd alluded to, hit and a phenomenal amount of rain fell during the evening and night causing us a minor problem with water ingress. Bearing in mind this is a very old house, I'm surprised it wasn't worse.
At this point I should mention that the property is not staffed from 6pm until about 8.30am the next morning. One phone call to the housekeeping manager, Martha (on her day off), and our issue was resolved to our satisfaction.
As far as visiting Charleston was concerned, we were a little disappointed as the weather was far from favourable but nevertheless we got out there and saw the sights, ate and drank in the local establishments, shopped and appreciated what this lovely city had to offer. As for our accommodation, we couldn't fault it. Old world charm and wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. So, we had an issue with the weather, so what! It was dealt with quickly and with minimum fuss and has certainly not ruined our experience. That's all you can ask for when things go awry, surely?
Bottom line, we'd have no hesitation in recommending Palmer's Pinckney Inn to our friends, or indeed, anyone.



Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lamaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,880 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,645 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jasmine House Inn
#9 of 39 in Charleston
222 reviews
Cannonboro Inn
#15 of 39 in Charleston
404 reviews
The Meeting Street Inn
#7 of 39 in Charleston
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer's Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer's Pinckney Inn

Address: 19 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-2005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: ₹ 9,107 - ₹ 21,315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palmer's Pinckney Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located right in the heart of downtown Charleston! Convenient for walking to shopping and dining spots. Pet friendly in 3 of our rooms! 4 rooms with kings size beds and working fireplaces. All private baths, 2 rooms with jacuzzi tubs. Access to kitchen, continental breakfast, refreshments available. Plus, homemade muffins, cookies and other goodies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Palmer's Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer`s Pinckney Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing