We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual delicious local food”
Review of FIG

FIG
Ranked #16 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 75
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hasell
London, NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unusual delicious local food”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We absolutely loved our dinner at FIG, the food was absolutely delecious and the service was perfect. We didn't have a reservation but we ate at the bar which was more intimate than the main dinning room. We had excellent local oysters, soft shell crab, flounder and mini doughnuts. The cocktail menu was interesting with a make your own manhattan menu and tons of negronis. I would recommend this lovely place to friends, family and anyone visiting Charleston!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dsgnylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,346
    276
    103
    43
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“food is good!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Its better than good, it's incredible! Put it one your must go to list.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
289 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“So close to a 5 circle restaurant.”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The meal we had a Fig’s was almost perfect. Makes me wish we would tried it a long time ago.
Wendy, our server was friendly and extremely knowledgeable on all items on the menu. She was able to answer all our questions and describe each item in detail.
The appetizers we ordered were amazingly good. I ordered the coddled sea island farm egg with stone crab. This easily could be the best appetizer I have ever eaten in my life. Rich and creamy broth, luscious bits of stone crab meat, and a perfectly cooked coddled egg. I would order this again and again. The Ricotta Gnocchi and border springs farm lamb Bolognese melted in your mouth and was perfectly balanced by a tomato lamb bolognese.
I was really looking forward to suckling pig confit, unfortunately it was not on the menu the night we were there. On the plus side they were offering a Skate wing which was dusted in cornmeal, cooked to perfection, and served over vegetables in a green garlic sauce. If you like fish, you will love this dish.
If there was a flaw to our meal, it was what the wife ordered. She was having a hard time choosing between the Lamb Steak and the sautéed soft-shell crabs. Since we both love fried soft shells but never had them sautéed it is what she got. The flavor of the dish was good, but the texture of sautéed shell was less than desirable. It was extremely chewy and not at all pleasant in the mouth. This dish alone is the reason FIG’s get a 4 circle rating instead of a 5.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountaineer_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fig for you”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We were not able to dine there because we had a previous reservation and they were full. We sat at the bar and had a few appetizers. We loved the small size and casual but sophisticated
feel. Wish we had time to go back and have dinner.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank laurgoin50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“What's the Big Deal?”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Recently moved to Charleston from Seattle and am anxiously sampling the top rated restaurants here. Based on local and national reviews Fig was at the top of my list. Unfortunately I was underwhelmed.

Pros: Pleasant ambiance, laid back vibe, very friendly staff. I dined at the bar and Matt, our bartender, was friendly, energetic, knowledgable and attentive. He was quick with wine recommendations and super enthusiastic about their menu. The guy is obviously a pro. I just wish their food was as notable as Matt was.

The complientary bread and butter were flavorless. Good texture, but my reaction was, so what? It's just average bread and butter in a top rated, $30+ per entree restaurant.

I selected the pate appetizer, which Matt pointed out was from a recipe 8 years in the making. Smooth and creamy he promised. I love pate, so was especially excited to sample Chef Lata's famous version. It was smooth and creamy. But I guess it took 8 years to strip all the flavor out because this minimally presented, though generous slab, had none. The toasted, crustless, white bread served with it overwhelmed the pate and reinforced it's main flaw: it had no flavor. Note to chef: When light toast beats down your chicken liver pate go back and fix the recipe.

Ordered the Trigger fish entree. A generous portion of green crusted fish was served over finely sliced baby potatos and carrots, and small shell-in clams. The plate was also covered in a fine layer of deliciously clean tasting (vegtable?) broth. The crust? Not sure since all I tasted was seared salt.

The fish was dry, but not overdone. The texture was almost fire roasted, but the salt crust killed any hope of the flavor emerging. Oddly, the fish didn't taste send-it-back salty. It was just too salty for such a delicate dish. So I ate, but didn't really enjoy.

I skipped dessert and left. What struck me on the way back to the car was the burning sensation on my tongue. Salt burn. It's now 1:45 minutes since I left the restaurant and I'm trying to clean my palette with one of WA State's most hightly rated Cabs to no avail. The salt burn is here to stay tonight.

Given the number of wonderful restaurants I've sampled in Charleston so far (S.N.O.B., for example), I'll keep sampling and return in a few months to give Fig another try. Hopefully by then my tongue will have stopped burning.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed FIG also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to FIG? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing